A Griswold Family Mani

Does anyone not watch the classic movie National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation over the holiday season?

If you don’t, stop what you’re doing and go watch it. Now.

Because I’m trying to adorn my body like a Christmas tree this season, I festively painted my nails while watching my all-time favorite movie. Trio

After a base coast, I applied two coats of Lancome’s Code Red and let it dry a few minutes.

Using Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Xtreme Wear in White On, I painted on thick strip across the top of my nails.

Following a ten minute dry down (it’s imperative you let the white dry, or it will bleed into the next step – trust me. I’m speaking from impatient experience).

One thin swipe of Salon Perfect in Silver Plated completes the look between the red and white hues.

Finish with Seche Vite Dry Fast top coat and you are all set.

Happy manicuring and cheers to the Griswolds!

CBXB

35 thoughts on “A Griswold Family Mani

  1. Your nails always remind me of a woman I dated in college who gave the best back scratches ever! I saw that car ornament in Kohl’s this weekend and so almost bought it! Best Christmas movie ever! Can’t see the line, can ya Russ?

    • It’s true – nails make for good back scratches!
      And as for the best Christmas movie ever – it’s true. I could probably watch it every day during December and not get sick of it!
      I don’t know what to say, except it’s Christmas and we’re all in misery.

  2. I wanted to stop by and wish you a Merry Christmas before I go on vacation. Have a great one! Oh I love this time of year.

  3. markbialczak says:

    You really nailed this post, CBXB! Yes, I love revisiting the Griswold’s at Christmas. Clark sees the light. OK, too many puns in one comment box.

  4. John says:

    Such festive nails! I like the European Vacation movie the bestest… ;)

  5. FreeUrCloset says:

    My favorite Xmas movies are Love Actually and Christmas Vacation.
    Love the mani.
    This part always makes me laugh :)

    • My FAVE scene from the movie. And, I knew we were kindred spirits but had no idea how much so until now. The two must see movies for me every year are Love Actually and Christmas Vacation! Double feature on December 25, Baby!

  6. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    LOVE IT! Christmas Vacation is one of my fav holiday movies, along with Elf.

  7. REDdog says:

    I’ve been watching the Griswolds at Christmas so long…now my kids ask for it each year too.

  8. Love the nail does! Very Christmassy. :)

  9. Aussa Lorens says:

    Huzzah, love this movie! My whole family watched it after Thanksgiving and it was my boyfriend’s first time– he has now been inducted :) Love the nails. Always impressed when I come here, always.

  10. kellisamson says:

    I have that same Christmas ball, but in light blue! It was my Grammy’s friend’s and it’s my favorite ornament. I have never seen another! Whoa.

  11. Love the mani!! I really like the silver stripe between the 2 colors to even out the line. Merry Christmas!

  12. SerachShiro says:

    Your nails are in a very :) pretty Christmas style, love them !

  13. CoCo says:

    Love these nails! I love the Griswolds!

  14. I am sure you had a good one my dear :). Love the nails! XOXO

Holla at me!

