Weekend Winks – Losing It

Planning to spend a relaxing Mother’s Day weekend around the mini manse with my two fur balls (yes, I celebrate this special day of moms even though I don’t have my own humans – I’m assuming your card is in the mail to me?) took an unexpected turn with my innate ability to act stereotypically blonde.

Quiet time with my two pussies.

“Quiet” time with my two pussies much to New Cat’s dismay.

Is there a better way to spend a Friday night than taking in a movie (after mixing cocktails in the bathroom – I know it sounds so disgusting but seriously alcohol kills the germs, right? RIGHT?) on its opening weekend?

Little Friday night fun in the theater.

A little Friday night theater fun.

The film of choice was Neighbors, starring Zac Efron (and some other people) which may or may not be the entire reason I wanted to go and see this flick.

Um, yes please.

Um, yes please.

Mr. Dreamboat’s blue eyes apparently put me in trance, as I somehow managed to lose my cell phone between the movie theater and my mini manse. Naturally I didn’t realize this until Saturday morning when I went to grab the device from its usual resting spot by my sleeping head. Then I nonchalantly sauntered over to my purse to retrieve my mini lifeline that I must have forgotten to take out of my purse the previous evening.

No dice.

Retracing every single high-heeled step from Friday night, I morphed into a Tasmanian devil tearing my mini manse apart. After five hours of scouring my trash cans, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom drawers, couch cushions, in the piano, under the bed, in the freezer, through dirty laundry, in Teddy’s food bowl, behind every piece of furniture under the roof, outside of the balcony AND through my car, I looked like a deranged lunatic in dire need of a bottle of booze.

Luck of the Irish my ass

I surrender.

Throwing up the white flag, I traipsed over to the phone store and became a new owner of a slick phone. Problem is I have no one’s contact information or any of the 1,463,092 photos I hoarded over the past two years.  But this is an experience I’ve mustered through before when roughly 700 days ago, I accidentally ran over my phone and got to start from scratch on the information train.

Having a shiny new piece of technology with no protective gear started to make me sweat, so I zipped over to the mall where I intended on getting a snazzy new Juicy Couture (my mothership of shopping) phone case. Only thing is, I’ve apparently lost my Juicy store here in Nashville.

JUICY?!

No warning. No signs. No explanation. No goodbye?!

Standing dumbfounded in the mall, feelings of retail despair crept over my being and I did the only thing I could think to do…share a cocktail with a gal pal.

Quenching my losing thirst.

Quenching my losing thirst with First Mate.

In between the snapping of this photo and a trip to the bathroom, I lost one of my fave sterling silver earrings that I’d splurged on with holiday money.  I also lost a gold button off of my blouse and acquired strange looks when asking staff if they could see either missing item (on a dark restaurant floor). I was falling apart at the seams…

Sunday morning was all giggles and smiles from the twins in Iowa.

These two love birds

Love birds.

It’s hard to believe that one year ago on Mother’s Day my niece and nephew looked like two roly polies that could hardly turn their chubby necks from one side to another.

Just roly polys a year ago.

Prince B and Princess B.

Being that I’m a mom to two fur balls, I was commanded to make an appearance on the porch in order to retrieve my gift. God forbid someone lift a paw.

Come and get it.

Come and get it.

Joining up for a date day with my mama, I was filling her in on all of my minor losses over the weekend when the heel cap of my shoe came off in the crack of a sidewalk (thank God I didn’t break my mom’s back) as we were walking downtown. Luckily for no one, I spent the rest of the day sounding like a half-assed tap dancer clip clapping my way all over the city.

Clip clop the wonder horse.

Balancing on a screw is fun.

Slightly limping my way through the streets of Nashville due to my heels being uneven, we went to see Million Dollar Quartet at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center. And holy shit was it fabulous.

I over enjoyed myself so much that the man in front of us turned around after the show and said, “Who was screaming so loud? Never thought to bring ear plugs to a Broadway musical,” as I pointed to my mother.

Mom's Day fun.

You’ll think you’re seeing Elvis for real and lose your shit. And your voice from screaming.

While we ended our day on a high note of fresh margaritas from a local restaurant, I managed to keep everything in tact for the remainder of the weekend.

Happy

Living it up with my fave mama.

I thought my minor losses were behind me until I appeared at work and lost air conditioning in my office on a 90 degree day.

Here’s hoping I don’t lose my marbles (or anything else for that matter) by Friday…

CBXB

CBXB!

48 thoughts on “Weekend Winks – Losing It

  1. I went to see Neighbors this past weekend as well, it was so funny! & once again your niece and nephew are the cutest!

    xx

  2. It’s a Juicy emergency!

  3. markbialczak says:

    Sorry for your losses, CBXB, I say, crossing my self reverentially for all those photos, numbers, earring and button.

  4. Lost earring and button…..sounds like quite a wild night. :) Belated Happy Mothers’ Day to you. Hope your fur balls spoiled you with breakfast in bed. :)

  5. GADZOOKS & GADZOINKS! aren’t bad things supposed to run in 3s? I am counting 4 (phone, button, shoe, & juicy shop). Me thinks you need to stay safely at home this evening, with a big jug o’ skinny pirates, and shop juicy online (this link’ll give you 40% off jewelry – which I am hoping will make you giddy as a girl on a date with Ephron!)

    http://www.juicycouture.com/jewelry-boho-collection?cm_mmc=ExactTarget-_-Announcement-_-JC+Jewelry+Promo+20140512+R-_-POS3525&utm_source=email&utm_medium=email&utm_content=SHOP+NOW&utm_campaign=JC+Jewelry+Promo+20140512+R

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    Ok. let’s not totally panic here (yet) and try to keep your priorities in place.
    Out of the 1,463,092 photos that were lost from your phone, how many were of Ted?! That’s the important question.
    Hollywood is going to need plenty of archival shots when the boy hits the big time.

    • Oh Phil. You know that out of 1,463,092 photos precisely 1,463,090 were of the famous feline. He’s so pissed at me and while I already feel badly about losing the phone, I have to figure out how to make it up to this little monster.

  7. Nancy Brown says:

    Love the blog, hate that items were lost.

  8. Ms B. BAD says:

    oh man! I think the no ac after all of that would have made me lose my marbles!

    p.s. Happy belated mothers day! ;-)

  9. Ms B. BAD says:

    oh and juicy couture is going out of business! They will only be sold exclusively at Kohls department stores go forward :(

    • WTF?! How did I not know this? And why does it feel like my retail world is coming to an end? I thought I single handedly kept their doors open but apparently not. I loathe the idea of the brand being in Kohls…ugh.

  10. st sahm says:

    hold up. mimosa. in a can? I want.

  11. This post should be titled “Things Fall Apart, but It Could Be Worse.”

    Sounds like you had another crazy and eventful weekend of shenanigans. We are getting Million Dollar Quartet up here, and it seems like it would be an interesting show. Is there an actual story? Or is it set up like a concert?

    • Your title would have been way more appropriate!

      MDQ is basically a recreation of events that took place one evening in 1957. There are no more than 8 people on stage at once, no orchestra and only one piece of scenery. Toward the end it seemed like a concert because I lost my shit, as I love oldies but there was a story about Sun Records and the early careers of the four musicians. I was really impressed. Lemme know if you go!

  12. JMC813 says:

    Take it from someone who has had days/weeks like that AND lost his marbles, had screws come loose, and any other words that describe just generally losing your mind. It gets better. Sooner or later. Usually sooner. Hang in there Kitty Mama and it will all be right again.

  13. Losing a phone sucks! I hope you had taken the insurance on it. As you know mine broke and I had a new one the next day because of the insurance. Also, you should be loading all your pics and phone numbers onto the cloud or your website page for your carrier.

    Start over on those 1,463,092 photos of Ted again….

  14. kellisamson says:

    Oh, my. I hate those kinds of times! I am so sorry everything seemed to go wrong and hope that you’ve fulfilled your karmic obligation for snafus!

    • I think you’re right! Small snafu obligations are complete for the year! Funny how losing small things altogether can seem like such a dramatic event (which comes as no surprise as I would be dramatically reacting to any situation – large or small!). :)

  15. New cat doesn’t look happy :). No ac, I would go crazy!

  16. SerachShiro says:

    You had had a great time I see and I wish you a super lovely-fun weekend friend :) ! Xxx

Holla at me!

