For the Love of Bunny

I have been accused of being a hoarder – and in many ways I am.

Not to be confused with the likes of folks on the A&E television show but I tend to hold onto things that I love. FOREVER. I realized this ran in my family when my Grandma passed away several years ago. We were in her basement, going through various items collected through her life and I opened up a purse, finding it full of unused pencils (I mean, if the world comes to an end, you definitely need non-sharpened pencils…for weapons, possibly?). Finding her stash only validated my need to keep my childhood eraser (yes, erasers), sticker, stamp and rock (gravel, mostly) collections tucked away in boxes (I mean, my grandchildren (or grandpets in my case) will need something to look through once I cease to exist).

Flipping through old pictures, I came across a few that shed light on the fact that I may need someone to call the show on my behalf – over a stuffed animal. However, in my defense, I’ve apparently had him by my side since my conception.

Meet Bunny:

Bunny (very clever and creative name, I know) the stuffed bunny. Keeping me company after a long day at the zoo.Β  (p.s. what about the matching outfit? No wonder I’m so into clothes today, Mom!)

Bunny was very good practice for my future cat ownership because all he apparently wanted to do was nap with me (and my dad).

Bunny grew up with me in Iowa – riding in my baby buggy when I was a kid, watching me prep for junior high, comforting me when I was sick, absorbing tears from my broken hearts (funny how that happens more than once), staying up late to watch David Letterman in high school, accompanying me to college and finally, Nashville, where he sits on my bed today (I swear to Jesus that he sits behind a pillow and is the one and ONLY stuffed animal on the bed – see proof below).

Now you see him….

What bunny?

I realize people have their own versions of Bunny – whether it be a blanket, pillow, toy – but it never dawned on me how much I freaking love this stuffed animal (what’s left of him anyway).

A very loved on, stitched up, raggedy Bunny.

Because of the comfort he always could give me while I was away from home when a kid, anxious and lost in college or lonely and scared when I first moved to Nashville, there’s nothing but love for Bunny. So call off the intervention. And give your version of Bunny some love.

CBXB

7 thoughts on “For the Love of Bunny

  1. Janie says:

    Awwwwwwww! Sweet little bunny!

  2. NancyBrown says:

    I remember bunny. I have a teddy bear very nearly like him. You thought I held on to a lot of stuff.

  3. My daughter who just turned 18 had Boo Bear. She left it on a train once when I was taking her to school. I ran a mile back and rescued Boo before the train pulled out, then ran back to let her know that Boo was safe. Boo lives in a drawer now. Don’t know if he will make the trip to college next year.

Holla at me!

