Skinny Sauerkraut

Two ingredients.

Twenty minutes.

Tasty Tuesday.

Skinny Sauerkraut

My girlfriend Court introduced me to this simple, cheap, flavorful dish.  While I’m telling you it’s easy (it really is), I lack cooking wisdom and still had to ask her for direction (yes this only involves two ingredients and one pan – I’m blaming it on my blonde brain), so proceed with caution.

Here’s what you’ll need for this kitchen masterpiece:

Store brand sauerkraut, $1.69. Butterball turkey sausage, $2.50 for two large links.

You can half the recipe if you’re preparing for one because both uncooked ingredients keep well in the fridge for a few days.  If you cook it all at once for larger serving size, the leftovers refrigerate well (I just reheated mine for lunch).

To prepare, add the sauerkraut in a large skillet over medium heat.

Drain the kraut before placing into the skillet for less mess.

Let this heat a few minutes before adding the sliced turkey sausage.

Cook about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

A featherless $2 feast.

Skinny Sauerkraut is gluten-free, has about 100 calories, 6 grams of fat and 5 carbs per serving. So you’d better go back for seconds.

CBXB

9 thoughts on “Skinny Sauerkraut

  1. AGIE says:

    i love this dish!!!

  2. Courtney Evans says:

    You did such a good job Meeeagan!!!! Now I need to go home and make some!! Loves!

  3. Clever. Not very different, actually, from my chef’s way of doing it. Sauerkraut is incredibly simple and healthy (and, best of all, cheap!) If you ever get in the mood to do this as, like, a party dish, I have an almost-as-easy full-meal (one-pot) recipe that totally makes guests think you just came back from France or someplace that dishes great food.

    • Wow! No one has ever compared me to a chef before! My mom’s heart might burst with pride (as I’m the daughter who calls to see how to microwave a potato). I would love the recipe to impress guests-please share!

  4. Dean says:

    I’m sure a Skinny Pirate goes perfect with Skinny Kraut! Looks good!

  5. […] Skinny Sauerkraut (cowboysandcrossbones.wordpress.com) […]

Holla at me!

