Ghosts of Halloween Past

When I grew up, Halloween was the kick-off to a long awaited holiday season.

We had costume parties at school (when you used to be able to call it a Halloween party complete with witches and bats, instead of a bland Fall Festival complete with scarecrows and hay bales – why were party poopers invented?), small town parades to prance proudly down our eight block Main Street (where every single citizen seemed to show up) and trick-or-treating mania where I’d have to come home halfway through the evening and dump my candy (promptly hiding it all from my dad or it’d be gone by morning) because my pumpkin got so overloaded, it was too heavy for me to carry.

What better way to celebrate Halloween than to dress up as Cookie Monster and pedal your best lookin’ stuffed animals on a parade through town? OK, forget the cute monster on the trike. What about the clowns in the background?

Spectator Sport. Told you the whole town showed up (there’s still time for you to go this year). And let’s discuss my mom’s creativity with the cookie wheels… genius!

Lucky for me most of my life, I’ve always had my sister side kickin’ it as a partner-in-crime. If I was going to be dressing up (sometimes making an ass out of myself in later years) she was going to be doing it too, by God (town parades included).

In the beginning of our twosome, we were all about cutesy costumes.

The Rockstar and Raggedy Ann. There’s my pumpkin I had to come home and unload due to candy mania – all in a town of 1,000 folks.

Cute masked crusaders…but what about the foggy background? Creepy!

As we got a little older, I suppose we wanted to be edgy (or as edgy an elementary kid and toddler could be).

That’s right. We rock. And so does my Fisher Price mobile cassette player. Snazzy carrying strap!

A scarecrow (complete with hay in the overalls – keepin’ it real!) and a mini-old man. Almost scary. Almost.

Then we graduated to truly frightening and fearful territory.

Scary Skeleton (how fitting) and Pebbles (decked out in her Strawberry Shortcake slippers). I’m also starting to wonder if there was any other color of hair paint than green, since that tends to be a trend here.

As we thought we were so grown up our costumes reflected our mature attitudes.

Lady and the Tramp. Or Princess and Sock Hop girl…however you want to look at it.

Only to remind ourselves in following years just how far from adults we were…

This Monster obviously wanted to trick-or-treat more than the Witch. A recycled mask and costume from previous years (getting lazy on us, Mom?). I was probably ‘too old’ and way too cool to show my face.

And being older we’re not so much cute, cuddly creatures…we’re just mostly cocktailed.

The odd couple. Pocahontas and Kid Rock.

Now that we’re miles apart during the costuming time of year, it’s fun to look back at our sisterly ghosts of Halloween past.Β  You should take a look at the old skeletons in your closet.

You aren’t a fraidy cat, are you?

CBXB

30 thoughts on “Ghosts of Halloween Past

  1. Ashley says:

    So is it just me or is that second picture of us beyond creepy! The way our heads are tilted just so and those masks are kind spooky! I always had fun dressing up with you! So glad you skipped the Mr. T era.

  2. I love this story! Great pictures! You were such a cute cookie monster! Gotta love the contents of your wagon too lol!

    Looks like lots of fun had between you two, and I love that! Memories like this really are amazing.

    So, thanks for sharing!

    • I’m so happy you enjoyed this post! We obviously had all kinds of fun and created endless entertainment for ourselves at Halloween – I mean, I did wheel stuffed animals around for the entire town to see…Thanks for reading and a chilly toast to you this Halloween night!

  3. Reblogged this on The Eye of Faith and commented:
    Some poignant thoughts on the power of image and the poetics of memory…
    Over at COWBOYS AND CROSSBONES we found this great fun piece to share.
    Check it out!

  4. I sewed a scary skeleton costume for my son that looked remarkably like yours–he picked it out from the pattern book–when he was 3. But then, on Halloween, when I finished it at the last minute for him to wear, I held it up on a hanger to show him, he took one look at it and screamed his head off in terror. It was SO scary. He refused to wear it, which was a teeny bit frustrating because I had spent hours and hours cutting out all those stupid white bones and fusing them onto the black jumper. But, he made a cute pirate.

  5. tedstrutz says:

    I love the Cookie Monster… what a cutie…
    Here’s my Granddaughter…

    http://tedstrutz.com/2012/10/31/radioactive-zombies-are-here/#comments

  6. Nancy says:

    This was so fun to see. What spooks! Loved the cookie wheels!!! Youe Mom is a clever lady. Adorable little girls and you big girls are are pretty adorable, too!
    .

  7. Nancy says:

    This was so fun to see. What spooks! Loved the cookie wheels!!! Youe Mom is a clever lady. Adorable little girls and you big girls are are pretty adorable, too!
    . Doesn’t your Dad’s head tilt slighty to the right?

  8. KellyP says:

    Love reading your blog! Can’t wait to see the Mr.T pic again!

  9. Glitter Mama says:

    Awww brilliant pics, what lovely memories to have. The pebbles outfit is my fave, adorable!

  10. Loved it! It makes me want to go find all my old Halloween costume pictures!

  11. meghanalfano says:

    I love this!!! Halloween is one of my favorite holidays πŸ™‚

  12. Tricia says:

    LOVE! Totally brought back Halloween as a kid memories!!

  13. […] Ghosts of Halloween Past (cowboysandcrossbones.wordpress.com) […]

  14. […] This little ball of love has no clue what he’s in for – I especially can’t wait for Halloween – not that we ever over do it in my family or anything. […]

Holla at me!

