Winner Winner Sparkly Deer Head for Dinner

This could be yours....

This has found a wall to hang its antlers on.

Cowboys and Crossbones is happy to announce the winners of the sparkly deer head giveaway. And due to the overwhelming responses AND the fact that Mrs. Claus was feeling oh-so-generous, I have THREE to giveaway!

Sifting through your favorite holiday memories, we read about Christmas wedding proposals, holiday travel nightmares, family feuds and Santa stake-outs.  I found that reader Chris B. needed this deer head because “God knows I can’t seem to shoot one myself,” (I didn’t know that these shiny creatures actually roamed the Earth – and who would want to shoot one?). But anyhow, I digress. So without further adieu and in no particular order…

The first winner is my loyal reader Carolyn, who not only kissed ass (flattery gets you everywhere, doesn’t it? Well, at least with me it apparently does), she included pictures as to where she would hang this priceless piece of art.  An excerpt from her letter reads…

“I was 7 years old and still believed in Santa Claus–until December 24th 1978 at 11:57pm to be exact.  I was snuggled in my bead with visions of sugar plums dancing in my head when I awoke to a loud banging and my mom yelling at my dad,  “Larry, I am trying to pick it up but it is too heavy and the door keeps hittin’ me in the head.”  I went into the kitchen to see what was going on.  There before my child eyes were my parents trying to bring in my brother’s new dirt bike through the back door.  It was at that moment I realized that my parents were Santa Claus and my life changed forever that night.  I still believe in Santa Claus and cannot wait to see the joy and excitement in my daughter’s eyes on Christmas morning–I am just glad she is too young for a dirt bike.”

The next winner is JELL JELL from the fabulously funny blog I’ll Sleep When They’re Grown Her favorite holiday memory is now one of my own because it involved a baton –

“I was about 10 years old and twisted my knee by jumping off the short brick wall in front of my grandparents’ house.  My knee was jacked up for forever, including my entire Christmas break.  For some reason my parents either didn’t get me crutches or I didn’t want to use them, so I used a BATON to get around.  No, I wasn’t good at twirling one, but I had a huge one.  So I remember sitting out front of my house amongst the decorations, with my baton, waiting for the fire truck with firemen dressed as Santa, to drive down the street.  I was the only one out there.”

And finally, my reader Susan was awfully naughty in the most childlike way for her holiday memory…

“I am the eldest of four daughters, and my favorite Christmas memory is when I was 7 (with sisters 5, 3 and 1). On Christmas eve I snuck downstairs after “Santa” had arranged all four sets of toys and dolls in separate piles in the living room — and took all the good toys for myself!  I mean, I scarfed up any toy, candy, game, whatever that I wanted, put it in my pile, and left my 3 sisters the dregs I didn’t want.  Imagine my surprise the next morning when my folks expressed horror (and then…rage….) on coming downstairs and discovering the “switch.”  How the heck did they know?  Think that’s when I figured out my folks were Santa.”
Quite the Christmas memories!
My elves are busy packing up the Nashville deer and sending them the winners’ way.
This giveaway business is fun.  I mean, ’tis the season, isn’t it?
CBXB

6 thoughts on “Winner Winner Sparkly Deer Head for Dinner

  1. YES!!!!! I am superbly excited! This is going to be a gift from Santa to the girls!

  2. dannadesigns says:

    Congratulations to the Winners!

  3. Courtney Evans says:

    Love love love these Christmas memory stories!!!

  4. […] Cowboys and Crossbones!  We’ve got double-duty here.  First, I won her sparkly deer head giveaway for a ridiculous […]

Holla at me!

