Trashy Tennessee Toast

Hosting and toasting a bride-to-be last weekend proved to lean a little more to the white trashy (dare I say redneck?  I mean, I do live in the South), less-than-classy side as the evening progressed…I know you’re shocked.

It all started with my genius idea to use my side sink as an ice chest. Except it turned my actual sink into the bar.

Tried

Sink suds anyone?

And then, a few drinks later my photo bombing expertise was challenged by amateurs.

My expertise in the art of photo bombing was overshadowed by understudies!

Overshadowed by understudies!

Which led to the skull shot glasses coming out of the closet for all those involved trying to dethrone me of my one true talent.

cool

No more photo bombing for you!

Suggesting the bride do a shot of her favorite tequila before opening gifts resulted in this face….

She just drank her favorite brand of tequila if you can't tell.

She loves tequila if you can’t tell.

Mr. Bear could hardly wait to help open presents.  His participation as a party side-kick really set the tone for fanciness.

oh something crinkly? I got this.

Oh something crinkly? I got this.

TB was such a fab host that he guarded the door to the room where all of the purses were stashed. As my friend Tina (who loathes cats more than anyone else on the planet would not get any closer to him than pictured) tried to enter the room, Teddy challengingly stared her down (such an attack cat).  Straight out of a John Wayne Western film.

much like a Western

Did a tumble weed just roll by?

We celebrated our relief of the completion of Pursegate by taking a picture every time we took a sip of anything (even water).

A picture each time we took a sip of anything, seemed to call the need for a photo

Memory making with vodka. For the 56th time.

Oh, someone just had a gulp of beer? That calls for jazz hands, naturally.

blah

Cheese!

Oh and speaking of dairy, how many cheese balls can one get in their mouth?

Cheese ball count (I think 22 altogether).

22 altogether.

After a party foul, the remainder of cheese balls ended up on my floor, where I was happy to leave them until the next day. Not for my pal, Ms. Clean.  I came out of the kitchen to find her whistling while she worked at 2am (then I pointed out all of the spots she missed, so I didn’t have to complete the chore myself).

The remainder of cheese balls ended up on the floor and Mrs. Clean needed to vaccum it up immediatey at 2am. (my neighbors love me)

My neighbors were loving me.

Who would have thought Johnny Cash would be the calm one of this bunch, as a leaning tray of shots was delivered?

Johnny is straight...tray of shots, not so much.

Johnny is straight…tray of shots, not so much.

The night really took a turn after the completion of the sideways shot…

Our 132nd toast of the evening.

Our 132nd toast of the evening.

We went from kinda classless to straight up white trash after we moved the food into the living room (so that it would be easier to accompany each drink of liquor with a corn chip dipped in whatever was closest).

Moved the food into the living room, so we could sit around it.

Such sophisticated ladies.

The first one to pass out ended up getting a Hannibal Lecter makeunder.

Hello Clarice.

Hello Clarice.

And speaking of makeovers, the duo below locked themselves in my bathroom giggling for 10 minutes.  This is how they reappeared…

Bathroom beauties.

Bathroom beauties.

Even my beloved martini girl shower curtain received some sprucing up.

Primped my curtain

Hot lips and full glass of liquid.

All of this glitz and glamour called for a run-through of wedding day hair.

A run through for wedding day hair

The higher the hair, the closer to Heaven (a Southern girl’s dream).

And after she passed out, our makeup experts practiced a trial run for behind-the-veil day fun.

Make up run-through

They went for the natural look, obviously.

After getting her second wind, the bride tried bonding with Teddy.

Can we just go to bed already!

Who was completely underwhelmed and highly annoyed at her gracious act of kindness at 3am.

After we solved all of the world’s problems by talking just to hear our own voices, we all went bed with a lovely view of the room.

Are those chips spinning above us?

After our two-hour good night’s sleep, we awoke to our thoughtful ‘artwork’ that appeared to come out of a frat house packed with 19-year-olds.  Nothing like a mix of beer, vodka, champagne, peppermint schnapps, Kahlua, tequila and Chambord bottles for morning after feel good moments.

Sight for sore eyes.

We were really happy for the bride-to-be, OK? OK?!

After a much needed brunch of grease, I walked into my mini-manse greeted by my sweet Teddy Bear who was apparently pissed we kept him up so late (every party has a pooper – I just didn’t think it’d be my fur baby!).

If looks could kill...

His favorite don’t F with me face.

I ran to the bedroom to put on my pajamas (the Cray Cray Cat Lady pair – to butter Ted up, as their his favorite).  I was gone all of 30 seconds and returned to this…

Found this

The little shit only stayed awake long enough to give me the “THE LOOK” when I walked through the front door.

But then I died when I saw that he literally face planted into the back of the couch.

faceplant into the back of the couch

A chip off the old block. So proud.

Why try to be classy when it’s so much more fun to be fabulously trashy? I know what you’re thinking.  And the answer is yes, I’m available for party planning.  It’s an all around shit show of a good time.

Teddy couldn’t agree more.

CBXB

32 thoughts on “Trashy Tennessee Toast

  1. Another great post! Loving your fringe and loving your cat!

  2. I am highly offended that I was not invited! This sounds like the best time ever, and I esp love the kitty cat stare down, walk 20 paces and attack look. Cats rule!

  3. What lovely pictures of you and your mates – although I don’t think I’d let you do my make up now

  4. Shenanigans…told ya so.

  5. I like that bathroom curtain

  6. I wanna go to one of your parties!!! Lokks so much fun!

  7. Mitzie Mee says:

    I love those pink shots! And btw, I don’t think I know anyone, who looks good post-tequila:)

  8. The play-by-play is exactly what I wanted and NEEDED. So much fun was had by y’all that I’m pretty sure I just vicariously got drunk. But I have to work tomorrow!

  9. Elphie cat makes a similar face. It’s very “for shaaaame” with a touch of “bitch please”

    It’s enough for you to feel bad but not bad enough for them to leave you alone long after.

    • You nailed the look spot on! That’s exactly what Teddy does and for one second I feel bad and then I just scoot on the couch beside him and all is good in the hood.

      • Yeah Elphie is forever doing the “I’m mad at you.” then she starts doing biscuits…but when shes mad she does biscuits on my weightloss trouble zones…very much “i love you but what are you going to do about these cushy side haunches”

      • Oh – Girl. I FEEL your pain here. How do cats know where you’re soft spots are?! Teddy goes straight for my doughy lower belly. The nerve of Elphie and Ted!!

  10. kellisamson says:

    All I can say is, I need an invitation next time. That looked like a TON of fun!

  11. Sid Vicious says:

    Your blog proves just how boring and mundane my life is!

  12. Lexa S. says:

    You guys had tons of fun it looks like! Love it! And love to see your adorable cat on pix 🙂

Holla at me!

