Snow Day!

Growing up in rural Iowa, no one batted an eye when inches (or feet) of snow were included in the forecast for the next day. No one rushed home early from work clogging up the streets, made a mad dash to the grocery stores buying all of the milk and bread in sight and no one abandoned their cars on the side of the road due to the frozen flakes falling from the sky (as people tend to do in Tennessee).

Snow days, the early years…

I'm a lotta help. But I look cute.

Helping Dad shovel the sidewalk. The broom was a big help.

I DON'T WANT SNOWFLAKES IN MY EYES.

I DON’T WANT SNOWFLAKES IN MY EYES.

School was never cancelled the night before an Iowa snowfall (in Tennessee, entire counties and districts will call off school if any meteorologist utters the word “snow” during the weather segment). Getting a snow day was about as possible as Martians landing in the community park.

So it was a rare treat when the phone (that was connected to the kitchen wall – oh the good ‘ol days) would ring in the wee hours of the morning announcing that school was cancelled (mostly because the buses couldn’t make the trip to get kids in the country).  Instead of sleeping in (like the lazy older kids – boring!), my sister and I would hurriedly jump up, put our snow gear on and head out to play in the wonderland of white (usually with our cousins, the Morris boys, who lived right across the street).

Documented below is one of the funnest snow days in history (well, my history).

First we got to sled in the road, which felt like we were breaking all kind of societal rules.

The dog.

My beloved dog Rocky – who always played side-by-side with us. And what about my mom’s kick ass cowboy boots for winter attire? So warm.

Second, my sister and I built snowmen, complete with cute accessories (mine came off of my body).

Sacrificing my warmth for a fashionable snow man...or maybe snow gal with the pink stocking hat.

Sacrificing my warmth for a fashionable snow man…or maybe snow gal with the pink stocking hat.  And Rocky, blending into the snow.

Then, the Morris boys thought it would be a good idea to dig a fort (such a dude suggestion) to Timbuktu.  I would rather have made snow angels and bedazzle snowmen but of course I agreed to help dig (as I had a cute shovel I wanted to use – and by I, I meant my cousin Derek. My nails have always been ‘jewels, not tools’ apparently).

Can we live here?

Can we live here?

I thought it was a miracle when my dad and Uncle Lewis came out to play with us, constructing a snow fort complete with a tunnel – diverting the dig to faraway lands (thank GOD).

All these years later, I want a snow day to build a fort with my cousins.  But then again, I live in a state that has snow days with no snow.

C’mon!

CBXB

Image 1

34 thoughts on “Snow Day!

  1. John says:

    Good old days indeed! Sweet photos. 🙂

  2. longtooth77 says:

    You looked cute back then, Megan! 🙂 the snow fort would’ve been a blast!

  3. longtooth77 says:

    P.s – Clarification needed. …You continue to look cute. Just taller 😉

  4. We have snow at the moment in the UK and it’s crazy, everyone was running for milk and bread in the shops and there was only a few inches of it on the ground nothing like the snow you have in your pictures!:) Wish we had enough snow to build forts like that haha!:Dx

  5. As always, you made my day. I was JUST having the convo with friends in Nash about the weather. I asked why do people drive like lunatics and why do they act like its a national disaster when it sprinkles rain or there is just a mention that it MIGHT snow? I’ve never seen people flip like that. Music Row will shut down in case there might be a storm, even if the sun is out, you take your life in your own hands.

  6. Reminds me of my own snow days as a child. Great pictures!

  7. Such nice memories. I never grew up with snow. It doesn’t snow in Lisbon but I’m enjoying it now and it’s so great. I love your sweet pictures. Super cuteeeee 🙂

  8. Nancy says:

    Loved snow forts and snow days. Still do, the snow anyway. Not the COLD! Great going down memory lane with you. Hugs

  9. FreeUrCloset says:

    How sweet! Growing up in NY, I also shared similar experiences, so it’s too funny how people here in Phoenix can’t even drive when it drizzles (drizzle here is considered serious “rain”) Wonder what they would do if it snowed … hmmm lets not find out.

    XOXO Nensi

  10. lycly says:

    awwww! you were so cute!!! I love the pink snow outfit ❤

  11. kellisamson says:

    Too cute! Love the big smiles. Growing up in upstate NY, my older brother would use the snowblower on the driveway to make a huge, huge pile of snow. Then, he’d grab me by the ankles, tell me to pin my little arms to my sides, and then he’d use my head to “drill” a hole into the bank. It was terrifying! and hilarious to talk about now.

    • I suppose that’s what older brothers are for – snowblowing and snow piles?!?! I hope you had a stocking hat on your sweet head. And looking back, it is hilarious! You need Mr. Fresh Scratch to do the same your big bro now!

      • kellisamson says:

        Ooooh, good idea! He is a much burlier man than my big bro….you’ve given me something to think about. And I did have a stocking cap on! Thankfully.

  12. petit4chocolatier says:

    Great photos!!

  13. It's Ames says:

    Yeah, I like how the “ice storm” we were supposed to have in Nash last week, had every school district closed and every Kroger parking lot full…and woke up the next morning to a bright sun and clear streets. I wouldn’t be as annoyed if they would cancel work like they do schools, but they don’t. So it super pisses me off. Ahh, Tennessee. 🙂

  14. Dean says:

    I hear you! Moving to Tennessee from Indiana was a reality check for snow days. School is cancelled here if there’s drizzly rain for God sake!!

Holla at me!

