Trashy Chipped Polish Trick

I loathe not having my nails painted.Β  But I DETEST when I have a chipped nail. The horror! It’s worse than my TV being stuck on the Public Access channel, worse than Teddy bawling to be fed at 4 am, worse than running out of Captain on a Friday night (well, let’s be real – nothing is worse than running out of Skinny Pirate ingredients).

So you can imagine my disdain when I went to snap pictures for my Mani Monday post yesterday and this happened. Before noon (and less than 24 f’ing hours after I’d labored over my mani).

Chip off the old nail?! No thanks.

Chip off the old nail?! No thanks.

blah

Mocking me from the keyboard!

What’s a girl to do with this travesty? Especially with after work plans?

a new version of a press on nail...and another reason I love tape

My new version of a press-on nail…and another reason I love tape.

My love affair with tape has been a long, drawn out romance (click here, here, here or here to see proof), so it was my natural go-to solution for the ugliness of a chipped nail.

rap sheet

Mug shot.

More difficult than putting a puzzle together, the Home Depot remedied manicure came out looking a lot more trailer park than anticipated.

blah

Which one of these is not like the other?

But, it lasted through happy hour, so I’d say it was a success, no?

help

Being the OCD manicurist that I am, the polish came off and fresh paint was applied as soon as I hit home. And the happy hour cocktails had me thinking while I was manhandling my fur ball…

blah

China Glaze in Lubu Heels.

Teddy’s talons could really use some flair.Β  Don’t you agree?

But what about painting Teddy's talons...

I’m thinking fuchsia.

I’m assuming this attempt would require tape to scrap back the pieces of my face clawed off by a pissed feline …

When in doubt, get the tape out!

CBXB

CBXB!

27 thoughts on “Trashy Chipped Polish Trick

  1. John says:

    Best take him to the Vet and knock him out for a bit whilst you beautify those talons! Do your nails chip if the paint is applied too thick?

    • That’s the best, level-headed idea I’ve heard when talking about painting a kit cat’s nails. And, yes if I apply polish too thick, they do chip more easily. I try to do two light coats, one brush of a top coat…that technique didn’t work this week…obviously!

  2. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    Great idea (your manicure fix) and BAD idea, Teddy’s manicure..very bad lol

  3. That’s a pawesome idea and looks great. My mum wanted me to wear these: http://www.softclaws.com/index.php?pet=cat I laughed in her face! Teddy and I are way too cool for them! =^.^= Bisous Bailey

  4. FreeUrCloset says:

    HAHA That’s why I own 2 chihuahuas, who love having their nails painted. Cats are another story, I don’t think you should even try (unless you have lots and lots of tape) πŸ˜‰

  5. Wow even your computer keyboard is pink!!!!

  6. So, you really are pink crazy πŸ™‚ . I cut my kitties nails with kitty nail clippers. Of course, just the tips.

  7. Nancy Brown says:

    Your Grandpa and I use to polish baby pigs toes when I was a very little girl. Think we did it to I know which baby pigs belonged to which sow. We always used red.

  8. Katie says:

    My cats always get angry when there is tape involved. If I pulled out some nail polish I think they would make me move out.

  9. poet365 says:

    There is nothing like an inventive mind
    when a quick repair is required and although
    it wasn’t as good as you would have liked
    it would still have fooled the non user sooo
    well done C&C πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Now all you need is to get your cat kitted out
    and you will have cracked it, no not the nail I
    mean the job πŸ™‚

  10. marisaporter says:

    Always wanted to paint the pup’s nails! πŸ™‚

Holla at me!

