Skinny Salad

I leave for Key West in three weeks. Therefore, I feel the need to shed the extra winter pounds I gain every year when I go into hibernation (and somehow get glowing, tan skin without having to burn myself in a tanning bed so as not to blend in with the clouds as I frolic on the beach).

I was just introduced to this salad from a pseudo paleo (this salad includes cheese) diet follower and was impressed enough to recreate on my own.

blah

Greens are good for you – but still I wish this was a plate full of french fries, I’m not gonna lie.

Here’s what you’ll need…

Olive oil

Red wine vinegar

Greens of your choice

Salt and pepper to taste

Shaved or shredded parmesan cheese

Any other veggie that you fancy – I’m just plain Jane girl and keep it simple (I also don’t like to dirty anymore dishes than I have to, as I don’t have a dishwasher. Lazy party of one!).

Protein of your choice (again, I’m too lazy).

blah

Holy healthy ingredients! Not a typical site in my kitchen.

Simply combine 1/4 cup of olive oil and two tablespoons of the red wine vinegar (you can add more or less to your liking).  Add a generous amount of pepper to the mix and then a sprinkle of salt.

blah

Who knew you could make your own salad dressing? Not this blonde.

Once I prepped the salad in all of five minutes, Ted came racing into the kitchen announcing his presence and needing to see what the hell I was doing in there (as I never do much of anything but pour cocktails in the kitchen).

tried...

No fish? No thanks!

This gluten-free, guilt free, low carb, low-cost (once you have the ingredients, you just need to buy greens) salad will have you coming back for more. Cats? Not so much.

Now here’s hoping I don’t get too sick of this salad I’m calling supper for the next few weeks. Cross your fingers for me (and my pasty white non-bathing suit ready ass) as I pair this salad with a fat glass of pinot grigio (wine really helps extra LBs melt off your hips, right?!)

CBXB

CBXB!

47 thoughts on “Skinny Salad

  1. Phil Lanoue says:

    Ted looks shocked at seeing that plate of green stuff in your kitchen.

  2. Joe says:

    Thanks for giving me tha laugh I so badly needed today! 🙂

  3. Joe says:

    Thanks for giving me the laugh I so badly needed today! 🙂

  4. Tracy says:

    Put a few raspberries in there and you will have your fruit for the day!

  5. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    I don”t think Ted approves lol Nothing a kitty cat would eat but it is good for you. If you like avocados try adding that, also some pumpkin seeds for crunch. How about some cucumbers or red peppers, steamed frozen peas (great protein and low cal) or add some sliced strawberries or blueberries to keep from getting bored. I make salads everyday and I must keep them interesting or I’d blow my head off lol If you need more salad ideas just let me know 🙂

    • Girl – I like your style! Thanks for the tips – I obviously need them, while trying to eat healthy and lose 20 lbs in 2 weeks. Ha ha! I have strawberries in the fridge at home. Will add them tonight!

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

        No problem and don’t stress too much over losing weight. You look fabulous just as you are 🙂 I know how you feel though because I do the same thing at times before going on vacation 😦

      • Thank you for the nice compliment! But there’s something about having to put on a bathing suit after not wearing one that puts fear in me!! 🙂

  6. so yummy! mandarin oranges (which you can buy in a can…), blueberries and strawberries are my jam when it comes to springy/summery/heylovehandles salads. I prefer balsamic vinegar/oil myself. I guess you can switch up the vinegars??!! OH the possibilities.
    poor Ted’s going to end up so confused…

  7. Tricia says:

    Pear tastes awesome on salads too!

  8. FreeUrCloset says:

    That salad needs some grilled chicken on top or something. Good luck on eating just greens for 3 weeks, lol. At least your not giving up on the vino!
    xoxo Natasha

  9. Glitter Mama says:

    Oh no, that looks so lonely, it needs some meat, or pasta or chips!!! Just drink lots of green tea, it always boosts my weight loss without even trying x

  10. That look on his face, he almost looks sad that it isn’t grease or alcohol. The many faces of Teddy.

  11. marisaporter says:

    Your cat Teddy really is an interesting creature -seems kind of human.

    • He is kind of human – because I let him rule the roost, be the king of my castle and talk to him like he completely understands what the hell it is I’m saying. Hence, me being a crazy cat lady! 🙂

  12. It looks like a “honeymoon salad” – lettuce alone!

  13. dannadesigns says:

    Nice. I really love salads and this skinny one looks great. As for the bronze glow I suggest a good self tanner (Neutrogena makes a nice one) 🙂

  14. Sechys Diary says:

    I think you might get hungry! 🙂

    Xoxo

  15. kellisamson says:

    Cool plate! I was going to do this salad thang before heading to Cabo in a week…..I was thinking about it in January and am still thinking about it! Good thing I have a nice cover up for my swim suit!

  16. Mitzie Mee says:

    I think I’ll skip the salad and just go for the parmesan cheese and a big glass of red wine;) Key West sounds amazing! Just the place to sip multicolored cocktails and listening to Beach Boys (ok..the only place in the world I would allow myself to listen to Beach Boys:))

  17. Always good to eat healthier but i think you look beautiful.

  18. […] cheese, turkey bacon, eggs and tomatoes…not the skinniest salad […]

Holla at me!

