Weekend Winks – Godmother Style

What happens when you are tapped to be a Godmother? You document every. single. second.

Cray cray photo lady

Cray cray photo lady…double fisting cameras.

While my folks and I were putting the pedal to the metal to get to Iowa as fast as our Nashville rears could go, my sweet niece and nephew, B & B were anxiously awaiting our arrival (well that and their bottles – but really us).

Patiently waiting....are they here yet??

Are they here yet??

While our 2am arrival had the twins fast asleep, my always trusty bed buddy was ready for some full on snuggle action.Β  I will say it was a cozy bed with my mother, myself and my dogphew Gunner.

Bed buddy

My tiny bed buddy.

Bushy tailed and anything from bright-eyed on Saturday am, I introduced B to what will most certainly be a life lasting love. Tiffany & Co.

It's never too early to start the love of the little blue box now, is it?

It’s never too early to start the love of the little blue box now, is it?

The jewelry excitement made little B hungry and gave her mom a chance to bomb one of the best of the photo bombers around (click here to read about my expertise). Moi.

The seasoned photo bomber that I am...got photo bombed

I got got!

Further solidifying a bond with my god-daughter, I introduced her to gaudy jewelry that she quickly became attached to – a gal after my own heart!

Diamonds are a girl's best friend

Diamonds are a girl’s best friend. An easy lesson!

To calm her down after taking the diamond ring chew toy away, we watched ourselves on reverse camera. Again – a girl after my own heart…

I heart me

We heart ourselves.

My nephew was rather busy acting like a Southern red neck in his camouflage pants accompanied by no shirt.

Southern style baby

Southern style baby.

Not wanting to be left out, Gunner tried his best to act like a lap dog.

Lap dog

Role playing a chihuahua. So tiny.

In celebration of all things Godly, we found a beer by Evil Twin brewing that I will now be serving at every party below the Mason Dixon Line due to its appropriate moniker…

Even More Jesus. 'Nuff said.

Even More Jesus. ‘Nuff said.

While others sipped on beer, I guzzled my bro-in-law’s cucumber martinis.

Cucumber martini...

Two cucumber slices honoring twins!

All of the ‘tinis made me sleepy and I was happy to snuggle with little B before putting her to bed.

Snuggle time!

Sleeping beauties. Well, at least one of us anyhow.

Sunday morning found my sister’s living room in need of a dust, so I kindly obliged.

Yes. I always wear a dress when I house clean.

Yes. I always wear a dress when I clean house. Don’t you?

Upon wearing holy water and a seersucker suit (it’s a sea sucker suit if you ask my sister), B decided it was rough being the center of attention during church.Β  Therefore, he found it necessary to pass out in the pew.

blah

No wonder the song’s called “Girls Just Want to Have Fun.”

But B was ready to par-tay after arriving home and greeting well-wishing guests.

How can you not smile when seeing this photo?

Giggly charmer.

With a nine-hour drive behind me, I arrived to my house with this greeting Monday evening…

Last ditch attempt with a strong paw

Where the hell have you been?!

I have a feeling I will be paying for my short Iowa trip for the rest of this week (as I kicked my Tuesday off at 4:47am due to my growling, howling bear).

Wish me luck – I’m going to need it.

CBXB

CBXB!

44 thoughts on “Weekend Winks – Godmother Style

  1. You’re silly! The good kind though. I must have some of that more Jesus beer!!!

  2. If Teddy smells Gunner on your clothes, you will be paying in ways you can’t imagine. My cats used to freak if they got a whiff of my clothes and they thought they might detect another animal. I went away one weekend, came home and my cat turned around and peed and pooped in my laundry basket. Glad you had fun with the kiddos.

    • Oh the cat pooping in your laundry basket! I’ve kept my Gunner clothes in the suitcase until I can do laundry. Zipped up tight! I’ll probably come home to claw marks all over the damn thing tonight….!

  3. Now you realize what your job as Godmother is don’t you. I don’t think Jesus beer will suffice. I’m thinking you might need to spend your weekends retreating at a convent. It would be very calming…at least for you, but maybe not the nuns.

  4. Such an honor to be a godmother!!! Starting the twin girl off with Tiffany!! Good job girlll πŸ™‚ Lovely pics! They are absolutely adorable. And so are youuu**

  5. Aw, what darling babies! How can one resist the pull of chubby cheeks?

  6. Aww looks like great fun! G,ad you had fun with B and B! Mr Bear will make you pay though for sure =^.^=

  7. Nancy Brown says:

    Best looking Godmother ever!! Lucky little B&B.
    They are darling!!

  8. Welcome back! Lucky you to be the godmother of one of the cuties. They look adorable!

  9. renxkyoko says:

    The babies are so adorable.

  10. vudragovich says:

    I was wondering when Teddy would get his picture in there, I suggest a complimentary mug shot of him at the beginning of every post! Congrats on being a twin god mommy!

  11. FreeUrCloset says:

    What gorgeous babies! Guess Teddy will just have to share you x2 … I’d pick up all my pretty handbags and shoes off the floor if I were you, and hide your tampons and toothbrush, too (wink wink).

    XOXO Nensi

    • Haha! You have come to know Teddy extremely well! This morning around 4am he had unraveled the entire roll of toilet paper, carrying it around in his jaws all over my mini manse, while loudly pronouncing his catch until I got up out of the bed to see the mess he made. At least it wasn’t a purse this time….such a sweetie!

  12. you got to bring that blue box and white bow into a girls life as early as you can! love it! adorable lil twinies!!! so chubby πŸ™‚

  13. Phil Lanoue says:

    That last photo of Mr. Bear is priceless and says it all really.
    I have to hunt down that beer!

  14. boblist says:

    Ohhh they look sooo cute πŸ™‚ And dressed like this they obviously are going to be fashion victims πŸ™‚ Greats from Milan, b.

  15. OH I AM JUST DYING!! Look at those cuties!!! Those little leggies!!!!So stinkin cute!

  16. So sweet and fun! And before I even got to the caption on the dusting pic, I’m like “whaaaa….she’s dusting in a dress?” First class.:P

  17. SerachShiro says:

    Love to follow the hole story and you know how to teach babies that diamonds are the girls best friends, hahaha….you’re so funny, you clean always in a dress ?

  18. kellisamson says:

    So precious! Did you think of “The Godfather” during the service?! I sure did when I stood as Godmother to my BFF’s two kiddies. I even was giggling. And no cucumber martinis had been imbibed! Congrats!

Holla at me!

