How to Relocate Your Pussy

Oh the woes of moving can seem like pure punishment.  But moving with a cat (especially my spoiled rotten fur ball) can seem like cruel and unusual torture. When I first told Ted of our forced impending move a few weeks back, he reacted about as well as I did.

WTF were you thinking? I KNOW.

WTF? We’re moving?! You’re gonna pay.

I tried to coax and coddle as boxes were packed and piles were stacked to keep the cat from going whack. But unfortunately none of my tactics seemed to work…

evil eyes

Evil eyes from an empty drawer.

blah

Sad face from an empty box.

Forget me not!

Scowling scoundrel.

Tissue blanket

Unsuccessfully trying to pack himself beneath a blanket of tissue.

Drama King laying by his fried buddy from the movie Christmas Vacation.

Drama King laying by his fried buddy from the movie Christmas Vacation.

Room for me?

Demanding a spot anywhere he could find.

Mission accomplished!

Mission accomplished.

My Bear turned into a lion before a cat nap.

Acting ferocious before one last cat nap on his favorite blanket.

I hate you.

And reminding me with one look how much he enjoyed his blanket being moved before him.

All of Ted’s shenanigans were making me want to pull my own nails out one by one so I decided to entice him the best way I knew how. Booze.

Cattail time.

Cattail time.

I wanna!

Wine. Always works like a charm.

After calming The Bear down, I bundled him up and took him for a quick look at his new mini-manse.

Sitting pretty in his new palace.

King of his new cat-stle.

Fun in empty cabinets...

Fun in empty cabinets…

Now how do I get down...

Wondering whether to make the oh-so-gigantic leap.

After marking his territory by rubbing his face on every nook and cranny, he seemed to be more at ease.  Even so, he was all nostalgic upon our last trip down the old driveway.

Teddy wanted to go on a drive Saturday afternoon...

Last goodbyes to the birds, squirrels and chipmunks.

Ted all snuggled up in the front seat, on the way to Grandma's house he goes!

Theatrics at their finest.

Because relocating a pussy is nerve-wracking for all parties involved, I wanted to make TB’s first evening at his new palace as comfy as possible. Which is why I tried coaxing him into a happy place with sushi.

blah

My tactics are slowly melting this icy feline.

And while we’re not snuggling in our new place like the good old days yet….

blah blah blah

Pre-moving bliss.

Ted’s having no trouble relaxing on his BFF blankie, making himself right at home.

blah

This is the life.

While meowing the cry of his people every morning at 3am wondering where the F he is will hopefully diminish soon, I’m pulling out the big wooing dog tonight…tuna.

Kryptonite

Kryptonite for kitties.

This will surely end the relocating-a-pussy-anguish, right?

Wish me luck.

CBXB

CBXB!

38 thoughts on “How to Relocate Your Pussy

  1. Phil Lanoue says:

    Well actually looks like Teddy is settling in fairly well all things considered (and by that I mean him being a cat).
    He will find his new cozy spots and ultimately be fine I expect.
    Tuna was a good idea.

  2. Good idea to woo him with the big guns

  3. aliciabenton says:

    Don’t worry… your pussy will come around all in good time. It just takes a little extra TLC.

  4. Ted should be more excited about moving.. after all..cats love boxes.. 😛 Can I expect a letter form u soon??

  5. It looks like the Tedmeister pulled out every trick in the book, but was no match for the CBXB. However, you can’t fool me. Those libations were for the ol’ CBXB.

  6. Looks like you finally put it all into perspective for him. Tuna is great blackmail material…

  7. Good luck with that! I’m not normally a big fan of pussies, but yours seems pretty ok. I could see enjoying a cold adult beverage with him.

  8. Oldcat says:

    The traditional cure for moving a cat is to put a dab of butter on the front paws. By the time he gets cleaned up, he’s settled down!

  9. Strewth, I’ve got so much to catch up on, haven’t I…

    I trust you and, um, Ted, are both well…!!! Baz, and the crew!

  10. Teddy will be puking in the floor soon enough like he has lived there all his life. He’s just waiting….

  11. Amanda says:

    Aw, looks like he’s adjusting! Moving with cats is tough! Chloe is now in her 5th hotel! And then we’re moving to a house in about a week! Poor kitties…

    • Oh my – how is Chloe handling it? Poor thing! Teddy seemed to really calm down after ‘his’ furniture was in the new place. And he is thinking it’s more of an adventure with junk everywhere for him to explore. Good luck with Chloe – Ted is sending good meow vibes your way! And I’m sending my good moving karma your way!

  12. Aaaawwww poor TB hopefully he’ll get use the new place soon

  13. adinparadise says:

    Cats really do hate change. Hope he settles in soon. Lovely pics. 🙂

  14. You know what? I think we will be moving soon too 😦
    I hope Teddy fully recovered now!

Holla at me!

