Weekend Weeks – Redneck Style

The South gets a bad rap for people doing stupid things and I wanted to jump on the bandwagon this past weekend. Doesn’t it make sense to have a couple of cocktails and then get guns out of the closet?

Red neck? Fabulously trashy? Ultra stupid to give me a machine gun?

Redneck? Fabulously trashy? Ultra stupid to give me a machine gun?

First Mate and Mr. Mate recently got home from vacation, setting up shop in their front yard. Naturally, I needed to go and see what the hell they’d been up to so we convened at their palace Friday evening.

You can see why we're friends, right?

You can see why we’re friends, right?

After a few rounds of Skinny Pirates, Mr. Mate decided it’d be a good time to show me a gun he recently handcrafted. Smart, yes?

Palm trees, cactus and a horse...what more could one ask for?

Palm trees, cactus and a horse…what more could I need? A homemade machine gun, of course.

Billy Bad Ass.

You can stop holding your breath.  This piece wasn’t loaded.

This is heavy.

Reacting to the heaviness of this metal –  I could never be Rambo.

Photo bombing Mr. Mate as he was trying to have a pic snapped of him. I'm such a bitch.

Photo bombing Mr. Mate as he was trying to have a pic snapped of himself and his weapons. I’m such a bitch.

Since I consider myself a professional photo bomber, I always love to see the work of other PBs in action. Look what my friend’s dog did to her sweet baby…

Cute baby bombed by Spanky the dog.

Spanky the dog should probably be my side kick.

You know how my kit cat Teddy has been such a shit about the entire moving process we’ve been going through the last month and refused to snuggle with me for weeks on end? Look what I woke up to on Saturday morning.  A wet nose, a tiny smile and major purring. We’re back together again!

He's baaaaack1

All is forgiven. FINALLY.

After my morning love fest, I took my rear outside and revamped a tired, light green wicker chair I inherited from my folks. One coat of metallic silver and poof! New life for the old chair (hope my parents never want it back).

Never met a spray paint I didn't like

Never met a can of spray paint I didn’t love.

My ever-constant hero, Dad came in to remedy a slight problem in my laundry closet. A washer and dryer that won’t let the doors slide shut. Oops.

Dad to the rescue!

Dad to the rescue!

Who needs doors when you can hang a shower curtain? Holla!

Laundry hero!

Laundry hero!

While I was busy making my dad sweat away,  my little cuties from Iowa were having a pool party. Looks like my niece B is taking after her Auntie CBXB. She can ‘turn it on’ whenever she sees a camera. My nephew B on the other hand, can’t quite figure the damn contraption out.

Camera!

Camera!

What the what?

What the what?

First Mate pimped out Mr. Mate on Saturday evening for all kinds of hanging shit up fun at my new mini-manse.

Husband honey do for some other chick is any man's dream come true on a Saturday night.

Husband honey do for some other chick is any man’s dream come true on a Saturday night, right?

Our (his) efforts were a huge success, as we got my ‘piece de resistance’ mirror up, centered perfectly (I had nothing to do with that) on the wall. Celebrate!

We wanted to capture the spirit of Johnny Cash. Did we do it?

We wanted to capture the spirit of Johnny Cash. Did we do it?

All of the bossing around on Saturday evening really wore me out, so on Sunday I busted a move up to the pool and there was no one else there!

Peaceful pool.

Private pool.  That’s how I roll.

Upon my return to the mini manse, I was greeted with water dripping out of my bathroom light fixture. You can imagine how thrilled I was – especially since this is the second leak I’ve had in less than a month.

Leaks are fun. Especially when you've had two in 30 days. Neat.

Leaks are fun.

Before using the saucepan above for a tiny swimming pool, I made my second supper in the new place. Skinny spaghetti, which inadvertantly ended up looking like Mickey Mouse.

Which strangely ended up looking like Mickey Mouse.

Sorry Minnie.

Ted remains completely famfoozled over the noises coming from above him (you know, neighbors walking around), so he parked it on the bar for the remainder of the weekend to de-stress.

Taking after his mother.

Taking after his mother.

Cheers to a fabulous week!

CBXB

CBXB!

31 thoughts on “Weekend Weeks – Redneck Style

  1. I had no idea your pussy had been withholding affection. What a little ingrate, I’d make him eat Special Kitty until he sees the light.

  2. You do crazy pretty well. Too well some might say.

  3. Mitzie Mee says:

    Yikes! I thought your cat had turned into an alien… It took me a while to see that smile:)

  4. LOL!!! So much fun crammed into one weekend. I love it. And I love your chair. Making old new again is my fav!!!

    P.S. – Ted’s nose is so cute!!

  5. aliciabenton says:

    So many things I love about this, as usual.

    1. The umbrella in the bed of the pick-up.

    2. The “Whatchu talkin’ about, Willis?!” face on baby B.

    3. You. As Rambo.

    4. The “What the hell is THAT?!” face on Ted.

    All of the above = priceless.

  6. I’m not sure if seeing you holding a gun scared me or scarred me…. 😉

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Gotta love a girl with a gun!

    • The only thing that comes to mind after THAT is the Annie Oakley song…”oh, my mother was frightened by a shotgun, they say….”

      (but I’m sure M. doesn’t care a lick about whether she can or can’t get a man, with or without, a gun!)

      Yes, girlfriend, it’s true. Leaks are fun in their own strange way.

      • That’s so funny – and SO true about a man! 🙂

        Leaks are so super fun that I am feeling extremely bad for the maintenance guy coming in and having to walk over everything not put away in my bathroom yet…tampons, vitamins, rolls of toilet paper, towels, extra shampoo bottles – oh and of course, Ted who I’m sure is under his feet helping him every step of the way!

    • Oh snap. Even one that doesn’t know what the F she’s doing?

  8. Second thought: Vindicated. That’s the word that comes to mind. Because you’ve got family on your side!!

  9. FreeUrCloset says:

    From an Arizona gal to a Tennessee gal…I dig your redneck style 😉 You would fit right in here in my neck of the woods.
    -XOXO- Natasha

  10. Strewth, you’re not to be messed with!

  11. When I first saw your pic, I thought OMG her ex landlord has pushed her over the edge and she’s gone rogue! Glad to see you’re settling in

  12. kellisamson says:

    Leaks?! No!
    Love your blue walls!

  13. Sounds like a crazy weekend. Glad Ted is finally coming around. Great job on that chair. Can’t wait to see it all pinked out.

    • Ha! Slowly but surely pink is bombing little corners of my mini manse. Shocking, I know. 🙂 Ted is now like a little lap dog who doesn’t want to leave my side. I love it but it makes it extremely difficult to get my ass out of bed in the mornings!

Holla at me!

