How to Get Into the Closet

While upgrading to a new mini manse was a tad traumatizing for me this summer (click here to catch up), I could barely wait to sign the lease on my upgraded digs after I saw the walk-in closet that would soon be mine.

Closet mania! Sold!

This is exactly how I looked when the leasing agent showed me the closet. I am the world’s worst poker player.

Upon moving in, I could barely wait to shove all of my glittered, bedazzled, pink, gaudy, (insert your favorite adjective here) clothes into their new home.

Bare as a bone.

Bare as a bone.

After all of the manhandling was over, there was one teeny, tiny problem. I couldn’t see into the f’ing closet due to the door that a man obviously designed, as it opened into the damn room, instead of outward. I had to go into the closet and shut the door just to shop in my own store.

Can't quite see...

Seeing a sliver of my threads just wasn’t going to do.

While some folks are trying to come out of their proverbial closet, I just wanted to get the F into my actual one. So one night in a pissy, hissy fit, trying to find a cardigan that was behind the door, I decided to take it off its hinges (I felt like ripping but do want my deposit back one day).

Culprit thwarted.

And suddenly, the world of my clothes became the place I always knew it could be…my own personal heaven.

Crystal clear vision instead of muddled.

I can see! It’s a summer miracle!

Becoming doorless has left my closet exposed, much to my delight.

Becoming doorless has left my closet exposed, much to my delight.

In all of its naked glory.

I can see my decor with much more ease (because every closet needs decorations, right? I can feel the eye rolls already. Yes, I’m talking to you – and I don’t care!).

I can see my pink glitter to start and end my day right.

Spotting my pink glitter to start and end my days correctly.

And I can finally see my scents and select accordingly instead of just grabbing whichever bottle my hand got to first.

Scents

Why so many to choose from? Depends which ‘personality’ I decide to be each day. Yes, I’m serious.

Of course with renewed access to my high shelves, I have my leopard stool that does the trick. Accompanied by a black, glitter throw rug.

Ted's Perch

My tiny throne.

Yes, I said sparkle black rug!

Yes, my rug sparkles. Yes, I know how ridiculous that sounds. No, you can’t have it.

This room has become my little fur ball, Ted’s favorite place to hang – most likely because it looks like a rainbow threw up in the closet (probably a psychedelic trip for a kit cat). So here’s how Mr. Bear sees the renovated space…

Is this heaven?

He starts by laying on his left side.

No, it's my closet.

Not being able to fully roll over to the other, he takes a breather and views my garments straight on his back.

Ahh....

And then he somehow maneuvers a roll to the right.

I know you’re wondering how all of my clothes have no shoe companions joining them in the closet.Β  Silly you! They have their very own room. But that’s a post for another day.

Wondering how in the world a gal like me has no shoes in her closet? Oh, they have their very own room. But that's a post for another day.

All high and mighty, sitting pretty.

So by simply becoming a design expert for all of 15 seconds and removing the closet door off its own hinges, I’m able to gander at the gaudy in my own home.

But where in the hell am I going to store the door?

CBXB

CBXB!

48 thoughts on “How to Get Into the Closet

  1. Good Lord you have a lot of shoes! A whole post with no picture of that cat? Are you feeling ok?

  2. aliciabenton says:

    Give the door problem over to your dad… he’ll figure out what to do with it! πŸ˜‰

  3. LOVE it, you are such a resourceful girl. I wish I had a closet like that. I’m working on hub to figure out how to punch out a wall to build me one.

  4. SerachShiro says:

    Thirst you look so great in black and pink and don,t put the door

  5. SerachShiro says:

    Because I like it in this way, you can see directly everything what you need and I saw you are too a perfume lover, so great ! Wish you a beautiful evening and don,t work to much on that closet πŸ™‚ !

  6. Phil Lanoue says:

    That stuff all looks way too neatly arranged. How do you expect to be featured on an episode of Hoarders unless it all just gets tossed into random heaps and piles?!

  7. Wowza! You have a ton of clothes! I feel like I need to enlarge my wardrobe now! Excuse me, I need to get to the mall!!! πŸ™‚

  8. I can hear the angels singing – I really can!
    That closet is a thing of beautiness and I cannot wait to see more shoe closet pics. Truly. Really.
    When my now husband moved into my condo he found it weird that my shoes (in picture labeled boxes) were in my kitchen cupboards.
    Men!

    • Do you have pics of your shoes in the kitchen cupboards?! I LOVE that idea! Who needs food when a gal needs shoes? I’m still piecing the rest of the shoe room together. I have to say, it’s the best fun of moving!

      • No pics but great memories – life was so much easier when there was no food in the kitchen and only nail polish & vodka in the fridge…

        Enjoy that new minimanse!

  9. PS
    In college I took a door off and put it on milk crates, covered it with a table cloth (aka white bed sheet) and presto MAGICO I had a fancy schmancy dinner table!

  10. vudragovich says:

    My wife is no longer allowed to read your posts!
    Or at least this one, please delete it πŸ˜‰
    She would want the rug in her closet and I am not a shelf building kind of guy.

  11. Oh! I love all things with glitter and having to do with shoes. A beautiful closet and loving the rocker-glitz vibe! Glad to be blog friends!

  12. No Ted photo, I’m shocked! Love the door off, that was a great idea. A new scratching post for Teddo!

    • Teddy wasn’t cooperating when I was trying to snap photos this morning. Can you believe it? A cat not wanting to pose for a photo? Weird, I know! And he’s been all over the door, wondering what in the hell it is and where in the hell it came from!

  13. marisaporter says:

    πŸ™‚ “I am the world’s worst poker player.” Haha I bet!! He was like, “sold!”

  14. Looks like you’re settling in nicely! I missed Ted. I think you may actually have more shoes than my mother.

    • I know, Teddy was missed by many in this post but he was being a little shit and not staying still for a photo. Diva! And I have so many shoes because I’m slightly addicted but in my defense…my feet haven’t grown since 4th grade. Is that even an excuse?!

      • LOL! My sister would envy you. Her feet have not grown either. She’s in sizes 4.5 and 5. Her problem is, despite her love for shoes, it’s hard to find them in her size!

  15. FreeUrCloset says:

    That is one fabulous closet. All that’s missing is a mini bar! xoxo

  16. kellisamson says:

    Use the door as a tabletop :). Meanwhile, I am not sure you have enough shoes, man.

  17. Joyce Metz says:

    Hey Little Beauty….Buy a cheap disposable camera & take a pic of each pair of shoes & tape the picture inside the clear shoe box….that way you know right away what shoes are in what shoe box. You can find the boxes at Dollar General~it made my life a lot easier.

    Your Precious Moma is Grey’s teacher…:) She’s going to love that little doll baby-he was so scared he threw up two days in a row-not sure how this morning went..Please come see me when your in town..

    • LOVE the photo idea for the shoes!

      And poor little Grey! Hopefully today went better for him. It’s a big deal going to school for the first time! She will take good care of him, I know.

      I’m dying to catch up, so will definitely let you know when I am out that way!

  18. Sofie says:

    I am in LOOOOOVE with your leopard stool! πŸ™‚

  19. Love the sparkly carpet. I bet Ted hangs in there all day and hide behind your clothes.

  20. Does this cupboard love include a bar?

Holla at me!

