Songs of a Move

Moving is always a pain in the ass, as you have to touch every. single. thing. you own (or so it seems) before you decide what is actually making the cut for your new digs, what hits the trash and what you will give away.

Smoking wreck

Moving morphs me into a smoking wreck. And I don’t smoke. Ever.

Every relocation situation has emotions behind it – whether it’s excitement, anxiousness, fear, happiness – and as I found myself moving yet again this summer, I thought back on previous times when I transitioned to a new place. And each memory was accompanied by a specific song, which had really never dawned on me previously.

So here are anthems from a few of my life changing moves…

Relocating to Nashville with no job, an apartment waiting for me that I’d never laid eyes on and $900 bucks in my pocket, I packed up a U-Haul, put my cat on my lap and headed for a city where I didn’t know a single soul.  I visited Nashville a week prior and spontaneously decided to give it a whirl. I didn’t have a ‘real’ job in Iowa with standard amenities (a regular paycheck and health insurance being examples), I didn’t have a ball and chain persuading me to settle down and pop out love children yet and it just seemed like the right time to make a big move.

Packing is so fun if you leave it 'til the last minute!

Packing is so fun if you start the night before you leave.

While filled with exhilarating emotions, when the day came to actually leave the comforts of my family home and the wheels turned out of my driveway, I drove down I-80 with big, fat “what the F am I doing?!” tears rolling down my cheeks.

Bawl baby in three...two...cue the song.

Little does this picture convey that I’m a water balloon waiting to burst inside of my SUV in a mere matter of seconds.

And what song was blaring on the stereo, aiding my sudden emotional insecurity of moving so far away from every familiar person in my life?

Wide Open Spaces” by the Dixie Chicks.

Cliché? Hell yes. Did it make me feel better? Oh F yes.

Carrying on like a bawl baby, acting as if I would never see my home state of Iowa again, singing along with the song…

“Who doesn’t know what I’m talking about
Who’s (me sniffing) never left (I wipe my snotty nose) home (I begin bawling), who’s never struck out (now crying so hard can’t catch breath)
To find a dream (me wailing) and a life of their own
A place in the clouds, a foundation of stone”

I think every trucker I passed and glanced down at my car thought about running me off the road to put me out of my own misery. But at the end of that long weekend move, I was excited, scared and ready to take on Nashville with all of the gusto a young gal such as myself could muster.

First 'real' apartment!

First ‘real’ apartment and it’s mine. All mine.

As life happens, I found a job within the first week of my move, met friends, joined a band, found a boy I shacked up with and all seemed to be falling into place. Except when it didn’t several years in.  I lost my job, vacated the shared house with my boyfriend and ended up getting to move in with my parents (every adult child’s dream come true) all in the same week. To say that it was epic shit show is an understatement.

Shit show.

A year full of hot mess and mascara stained cheeks that forced me to laugh at my ridiculousness.

The world seemed to cave in, the sky fell down and the Earth under my feet was ripped from beneath me.  I couldn’t catch my breath. I couldn’t catch a break. Not only was I reeling from a difficult break-up (I’d been with this man longer than some gal pals had their husbands) I couldn’t believe I had given my blind loyalty to friends only to have them vacate as soon as I needed them or even worse, take advantage of my trust when I was most vulnerable. Valuable life lessons learned and true friends left standing. Oh snap!

The song that played on constant repeat this time around?

Grenade” by Bruno Mars with a doozy of a chorus that goes like this…

“I’d catch a grenade for you
Throw my hand on a blade for you
I’d jump in front of a train for you
You know I’d do anything for you
Oh, I would go through all this pain
Take a bullet straight through my brain
Yes, I would die for you, baby
But you won’t do the same”

I was able to get through the tough year with family, best friends, running my ass off and any liquor I could get my hands on (the always oh-so-healthy coping mechanism).

Car bomb shots seemed like such a good idea...

Car bomb shots with cousins seemed like such a good idea…

But not really...

Until they went down the hatch…

Of course when my liver dried out and I was able to eek out the funds to make the move into my mini manse after 10 months of parental living, the song blaring from every available speaker was “Fuck You,” by Cee Lo Green, which has pretty much become my life anthem (side note, please play at my funeral if I should die before you. Thanks).

And now for my recent humdinger of a move…

Feeling kind of like a card-carrying adult, I was thinking at this point in my life the next step for me would be to move into a bona-fide house (or at the very least a spanky condo) and I was very happy in the small duplex I was renting, which is where I planned to stay until the timing was right for me to leave. But instead, I got kicked out of my mini manse duplex two months ago when the land lord’s son knocked up his girlfriend and they needed to expand to my side. Rough news, as I lacked the funds moving requires and the last thing I wanted to spend what little savings I had on first and last month’s rent, pet deposits, utility transfer fees, endless tanks of gas, etc….

Thank God for t-shirts that say it all.

Oh you need me to move ASAP? Let me just get my trusty shirt, sunglasses to wear inside due to swollen, shit show eyes and get drunk first. Thanks.

The Rolling Stones helped me get through this past summer move with “You Can’t Always Get What You Want.”

“You can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
But if you try sometimes you just might find
You just might find
You get what you need”

The lyrics continue to remind me that while at a forced proverbial fork in the road, intoxicated by my life’s sudden and unexpected twists and plot changes, I just might find that in the end of this chapter I will get what I need (or at least I F’ing better!) – I just wish I knew what that was going to be…(patience is definitely not a virtue in which I’m familiar).

I’ll keep you posted.

Until my next moving anthem presents itself, I’ll be cranking up the Cee Lo and rockin’ out to my life’s theme song as I continue to unpack by touching every. single. thing. I own.

CBXB

CBXB!

33 thoughts on “Songs of a Move

  1. LayonieJae says:

    Really hope that your move goes smoothly for you!!! And my favourite saying is “everything happens for a reason”… annoyingly as that sounds.. :-/ lol

    • You know, that saying usually proves to be true – and it’s a good thought for me to keep in mind! The new place is fabulous – it just doesn’t feel like ‘home’ yet, as I’m not all settled in. But it’s getting there!

  2. Hope all is well.
    Thought I’d tell you, “Wide Open Spaces” is actually written by a very dear friend of mine, Susan Gibson. She wrote/scratched it in a notebook and took off to college. As she was there, her mom sent her a box with the notebook in it. She finished the song. She used student loan $ to buy her first guitar. Her dad was pissed! Susan wrote the song, it got heard and the Dixie Chicks picked it up. The song is about going out and finding yourself. Of course, she used the $ from the DC to pay off the loan(s). Lol.

    She was just here and stayed with me recently. Unfortunately, her mother just passed 2weeks ago. She is back on tour now in NM. That song was her first song. She sings awesome! I personally think she sings it better than the DC.
    Tag SUSAN GIBSON. She does blog and she has a fb page. Just a little info. 😉
    As well, good luck with everything!

    • What a cool back story! And what a first song to have penned. Thanks for sharing!

      It’s funny how things end up turning out the way they should – with her mom sending the notebook and then Susan buying a guitar with student loan money. Love it – she’s my kinda gal!

      So sorry to hear about the loss of her mother. I will keep her in my thoughts. And I will also look for her to pass through Tennessee sometime.

      Appreciate the head’s up! And thanks for the luck – all is going as good as it can (with the help of wine, of course)! 🙂

  3. filbio says:

    Good luck with the new home. Moving does suck but at least it seems you have it all figured out now after a rollicking time in life!

    • Thanks for the well wishes! I’m not too sure I have it all figured out (moonshine helps, as you could tell from my previous post) but I’m certainly trying to roll with the flow as best that I can. I’m excited to see what’s next!

  4. Loved every song choice but the Chicks, but I’m “Not Ready To Make Nice” with them…LOL! As for the whole moving thing…yes, it can be so traumatic and hectic…which lends itself to obscene emotional upheavals. It’s one of the reasons I’m glad I’m a military brat used to moving…but even so, our move to Florida? 26 Cents went through my head…

    “When you get lonely,
    Call me,
    Anytime at all,
    I’ll be there with you,
    Always.
    Anywhere at all.
    There’s nothing I’ve got that I wouldn’t give
    And money is never enough.
    So here’s a penny for your thoughts,
    A quarter for the call
    And all of your mama’s love.”

  5. I dislike moving too. Things will get better but try to be patient. XOXO

  6. stylentonic says:

    Love your “I’m a wreck” tee! haha! I just hate moving!!!
    I wish you an amazing start to your new home! Kiss

  7. SerachShiro says:

    I also don`t like moving, (most of all because it brings so many work) but for me it have always been going to a better place with new positive things like; new furniture, new neighbours , new area and a new life in which you can manage the way by yourself how it haves to go……..isn`t it wonderful ! 🙂

  8. Phil Lanoue says:

    I’ve read that moving is high up on the list of life’s traumatic events right up there with a divorce or loosing a loved one, and I believe that.
    I friggen HATE moving! I hate it maybe even more then my cat does, and you know how great they are with change.
    Not sure about a specific song when I last moved but I know
    “The Racing Rats” by The Editors was in there.

    • Love the song that came to your mind in regard to moving!

      I think this last time I was more stressed about Ted’s moving world than my own. And then I got into my new place and I was discombobulated and Mr. Bear was all in love with his twice the size mini manse. CATS!

  9. im thinkin roadhouse blues..
    Well, I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer
    Well, I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer
    The future’s uncertain and the end is always near

    lilly

    • Lilly – we LOVE your song choice and could not agree with you more!! As a matter of fact, I’m singing that song to Teddy all night long tonight, whether he likes it or not (and we all know he will HATE it). 🙂

  10. dont tell him it was my idea.

  11. MrJohnson says:

    I’m always ready to move before I need to. I don’t have a bed stand, couch, coffee table. Ya, commitment isn’t my thing lol. I have this fantasy that I’ll have to runaway from the law one day so I try to keep belongings to a minimum. I’m not even sure if I’m joking. Thanks for the post! I love life stories like this.

    • Mr. Johnson, thanks for reading!
      And, I like your style…might have to run from the law one day…I mean, you never know. If that’s the case, you’d be silly to commit to a bed stand or couch! But what about a bed? Do you just leave it and run?

      • MrJohnson says:

        I guess I would have to leave the bed. Perhaps I have to rethink my plan and trade up for a sleeping bag. I also have some American money stashed away cause they take that anywhere in the world just like potato chips, beer and a good kidney.

      • I think your plan now seems perfect. Especially the kidney coming in handy if ever you need some extra dough…

  12. LifeOfBun says:

    Well even though you never smoke the cigarette doesn’t look half bad. Hello movie shot haha. Great to read how you got over obstacles and still managed to stay such a bubbly and inspiring person (I mean it, as you know you makde me do a couple of posts LOL).

    • I love making people do things like write blog posts! 🙂

      Thank you for your sweet comment. We all have our bad days but usually (with the help of a Skinny Pirate) I can laugh, laugh, laugh at a situation! And I kinda felt like a bad ass with the cigarette – then immediately felt like a poser once I saw the pic.

  13. kellisamson says:

    Girl, you are a survivor!!!! Look at all that crap that happened and how you are still standing. I would give you a high-five right now if I could.

  14. vudragovich says:

    I recognize some of those shirts from other posts!
    Moved back in with folks at 33, what a lump of pride to swallow 😦

    Car bombs or Irish Car Bombs that taste like a McDonalds chocolate shake?
    They go down smooth, just be careful when you stand up!

    Yeah, hoped to never hear again about that guy not using a condom! You know how much nicer your life would be if his parents had used one? (oops! am I just getting mean now?)

    And I think we are two peas in a pod, we both have enough virtues we do not need patience to make us even more virtuous 🙂
    (dont tell my wife I said that, I got the dog house the first time I brought it up!)

    Lift a Captain and his Wench to a long good stay in your current abode!

    • Thanks for the fun comments! And you’ve definitely recognized a shirt I have worn and worn and worn this summer…:)

      I won’t bring up the non-condem user ever again and I completely agree with you – wished his folks had thought about it….and thanks for having my back!

      You’re right, we are two peas in a pod with all of our virtues. Who needs patience? I think it’s overrated! And my lips are sealed – I won’t tell your wife!

      A big, fat cheers coming your way tonight as I enjoy Skinny Pirates on my fabulous party deck in the new mini manse!

Holla at me!

