Pigskin Style Sushi

Are you a lazy cook (like yours truly) who can barely get off your ass to pour yourself a bowl of cereal? When invited to a party, do you always offer to bring chips, a carton of dip and a veggie platter because no cooking is involved?

Allow me to introduce you to Pigskin Sushi (at least that’s what my fam calls it, as we make it for almost every tailgate we attend). What’s not to love about an affordable, three ingredient, five-minute, dirty-no-dishes delicatessen that even you can whip together and party goers will devour?

Pigskin sushi

This non-conventional sushi is always a crowd pleaser.

You will need:

Dill pickles, one block of cream cheese and thick-sliced, cooked ham.Ā  Total cost – $7.00.

Directions:

Place a paper towel under the slice of ham (this will absorb some of the moisture due to packaging) and spread cream cheese over it.

You can use light and/or whipped cream cheese, just be sure it’s at room temperature for easy spreading.

Next roll a pickle up in the cheesy slice of ham.

Baby dill pickles work best in the simple recipe.

Then cut the pickle-in-a-blanket to your desired size.

Once you’ve sliced, you’re done. Seriously.

Place on a platter and watch folks curiously gander at the pickles on a plate for a minute (seriously, people will act like they may be above a pickle wrapped in cream cheese and ham but once they have one, it’s game over).

A plateful of Pigskin Sushi won’t last long.

This snack was such a hit at the last tailgate, we made another batch of the low carb, gluten-free delicatessen for the second half of the game and still had no left overs.

Touchdown!

CBXB

CBXB!

27 thoughts on “Pigskin Style Sushi

  1. I am literally salivating. We always had these at my grandma’s house and I still have my wife or somebody who asks what I want make these for certain events. As you say, people will scoff at them, but they’ll be gone at the end of the night! We always used thin cheap Budding brand ham, but this thicker stuff might be better to spread the cheese one! Whooop!

  2. That looks delicious! Great post, I’m gonna try these out.

  3. SerachShiro says:

    That’s a very easy dish and I would like to do this on the first birthday we have in family, and I love pickles :)!

  4. Nasty!
    Creative but nasty!

  5. I’ll roll it all up with tofu, ha ha. Love your ideas, I swear, you need a cookbook. It would be #1. Really!

    • That’s so funny you think I need a cookbook…as I am such a lazy “chef” (if I even qualify for that word)! I did wonder how I could switch this up to be vegetarian friendly while thinking of you, writing this post!

  6. I LOVE IT! I’m thinking this would be an awesome idea for lunches too.

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Those pickles appear to be looking up at me from that plate (but in a tasty way) You seem to have all the major food groups nicely involved here, in which case all that remains to be included is the alcoholic beverages. But I strongly suspect you have that covered.

  8. Amy Bunch says:

    These are a family favorite of ours too! I wonder if its a Southwest Iowa thing? Because when I moved to Kansas City everyone laughed at me when I told them about them! But you’re right no one had any trouble eating them! I have a recipe for pickle wrap dip that is also amazing. I’ll have to try to remember to send it to you! It would fit right into your cookbook!

  9. FreeUrCloset says:

    I think it would look tastier with a tortilla wrapped around each piece. Nonetheless, I love pickles and cream cheese, so I’d give it a try! Very creative cooking, lol.

  10. filbio says:

    Yes – Redneck style sushi! Goes great with sports!

Holla at me!

