Weekend Winks – Cab Crashin’ Style

Cocktails, kitty time, football and a cab accident were the ingredients of my interesting Nashville weekend…

The little love of my life, Mr. Bear was impatiently waiting for his Friday evening cattails (and doing his best to blend in with the Halloween decor) upon my arrival home from work.

Ready for cattails

Desperate for a drink. He takes after his mother.

While enjoying our spirits, I shared news that will probably change Ted’s life for the better…there is now wine for cats (thank you dear readers for sharing the news – I don’t know how I wasn’t already in the loop, being bona fide cray over my cat). Although I’m going to have to fly to Japan to get my paws on one of the 1,000 bottles they’re making (but I think trekking across the world with my cat on the prowl for feline wine would make for some fun blog posts).

WINE!

Never drink alone again?! Score for the all of the cat ladies out there.

While Tedstar reveled in his wine news and I continued to drink human vino, I got all kinds of confidence and started hanging up pictures that have been sitting on the floor since I moved in July. And I have to say, surprisingly none are crooked.

Hangin'

Yes, I will come do this for you but it will cost you one box of wine.

I was greeted with smiles from Iowa on Saturday morning, which made getting out of bed more tolerable.

Your adorableness for Monday. You're welcome.

Your adorableness for Monday compliments of my niece and nephew. You’re welcome.

Is there a better way to kick off college game day than with a tasty bloody mary?

Saturdays taste so good.

Saturdays taste so good.

While I was prepping for the Iowa Hawkeye game, Ted participated (as it requires copious amounts of energy to sit) in the sport of bird watching.

Bird watching

The birds vacated the feeder upon Teddy’s presence. Smart birds.

With the tailgating (or rather homegating) goodies ready to go, my folks and I prepared to watch our Hawks get beat (which is a recurring theme this year).

Snack attack

Snack attack.

Pumpkin head

Even the pumpkins have spirit, yo.

And of course we kept up the shot after every score tradition, taking the sting out of the loss.

Shot time (grape vodka for mama)

Classy family.

Teddy was so exhausted after his bird watching, he couldn’t keep his eyes open for one single second of the three-hour game.

Worn out

Grandmas give the best belly rubs.

Late Saturday evening libations ended rather harshly as the cab we were riding home in got hit by a drunk driver.

Oops...

Oh the fun times….

Wambulance

Ambulance not needed but arrived in what felt like seconds.

While everyone was thankfully OK after the impact, when it occurred I was leaning up from the backseat, talking to the driver (I seriously never shut up) and therefore slammed into the dash with my forearm. I think I feel a lovely bruise coming on.

It only hurts when I move it.

It only hurts when I move it.

In recovery mode on Sunday, I was wishing I had a ticket to the Titans game. I must have turned into a witch at some point recently because a few minutes later, I got an invitation and free ticket.

Yes, please.

Yes, please.

of course a little cocktailing by my own hand.

Once again, I became my own crafty bar tender in the bathroom (I just get classier, I know).

While it was a terrible football game (for Titans fans anyway), it was a beautiful fall day and fun times were had regardless.

Beautiful day for football

Every team I like loses…maybe I’m not a witch with powers after all.

Upon my return home I found Ted in the same position he was in when I left earlier in the day.

Case of the Mondays...

Weekends are exhausting.

And he was in the same position yet again when I left for work this morning. Apparently all of the feline wine excitement really wore him out.

Here’s hoping your day isn’t as tough as Ted’s weekend.

Cheers!
CBXB

CBXB!

48 thoughts on “Weekend Winks – Cab Crashin’ Style

  1. I’m glad your taxi crash wasn’t serious, and probably not as painful as your Titans getting their butts kicked by the Niner (go Niners!). I hope you heal from your massive hemotoma to your forearm quickly. I must say, it looks like Ted was the one in the accident judging from his unresponsivenous!

  2. LayonieJae says:

    Honey I’ve nominated you for the wordpress bloggers family award, please see this link http://layoniejae.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/wordpress-blogger-family-award/ πŸ’–

  3. Your family kills me with the moonshine shot tradition. Good lord, what do you do when the Hawkeyes are actually decent and score lots of points?? Those are rough hangovers, I’m sure.

  4. VivBlogs says:

    Mmm. Booze in a pouch. And 7-layer dip? My fave. Glad you are okay.

  5. filbio says:

    Glad to see you weren’t hurt too badly in the crash! Time to get that lawsuit ready and make a few million bucks! That will buy a lot of cat wine!

  6. Aussa Lorens says:

    Wine for cats? Wow… I just need more wine for me.

  7. How totally (I don’t know, wrong, or something)–to be responsible enough to take a taxi and to have it blasted by a drunk driver!

  8. FreeUrCloset says:

    Cat vino? Genius.
    They need to make some doggy wine stat..my boy Lucky wants in on the drinking action πŸ˜‰

  9. breezyk says:

    So sorry to hear about the cab and the drunk driver but glad you are ok! (Minus the bruise). Wine for cats?? Genius.

  10. SerachShiro says:

    Hope you feeling a bit better, and you were very lucky it could be ended worse ! You did a very good job with your wall and the twins are very trendy, the little girl wears leopard print…. so adorable. I have to talk about ” Ted “, what a cute little fellow and I think all this relax is doing him very good πŸ™‚ ! Wish you a great day and see you Xoxo

  11. kellisamson says:

    Oh, my gosh! I am so glad you guys are okay!

  12. Phil Lanoue says:

    Sometimes I think that Ted just might be the only one that knows what the hell here is doing around here.
    You don’t catch him doing housework, preparing food, and driving around getting in car wrecks, not when a pleasant nap can be had. Smart boy if you ask me.
    Eat, sleep, repeat. Works for the Tedster.

  13. How’s the arm?
    knowing you there will be some crazy good accompanying manicure sometime this week….

  14. M says:

    eeeeeeeeeeeek

  15. Kaufman's Kavalkade says:

    I have a cat named Bear looks just like your Mr. Bear. He wanted OUTSIDE as a kitten, and is half wild. He only loves me when he wants food.. haha. Or it’s really cold outside.

Holla at me!

