Blood Dripped Digits

What better way to commence my favorite week of October than by upping my mani ante with a little blood splatter masterpiece?

Poison?

Not your ordinary apple.

I got a tad ambitious in my manicure adventures but with a glass (or four) of wine, I found my inner confidence beaming through.

To achieve this look, you’ll need a clear, nude or white color of polish, a toothpick and your choice of a red hue.

Terrifying trio

Terrifying trio.

After applying Seche Vite base coat, I started with two coats of Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in White Out.

First

Hopefully you’re better at staying in bounds than me. Wine makes my lines blur. Where’s Robin Thicke when you need him?

To create the blood drips, I dipped a toothpick into a bottle of Sally Hansen Insta-Dry in Rapid Red and started with a single drop in the middle of a fingernail (be careful how much polish is on the end of your toothpick or you’ll have a large glob instead of a small drop – I’m speaking from experience).  Once you’ve dripped in your desired nail locale, use the toothpick to drag the red to the tip of your nail.

Dip baby dip

Dip baby dip.

After I had my drips appropriately placed, I added little dots of red for a splattered effect. Then, I did one thin swipe of red along the top of my fingernail (still with the toothpick) to tie everything together.

Dripped with blood...

Dripping digits.

Wait about 15 minutes before applying a top coat (I’m in love with Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat), as the red globs need more time to dry and will smear if you don’t wait long enough (again, speaking from impatient experience).

While my talons have gotten a few raised eyebrows already today, a woman at the grocery check out line asked me why I painted my nails the way I did (because I F’ing wanted to, Lady – is what I wanted to say but refrained) this morning.

Devil made me do it.

Devilishly delightful.

I responded with,”the devil made me do it.”

*Insert evil, cackling witch laugh here.*

CBXB

CBXB!

41 thoughts on “Blood Dripped Digits

  1. Molly says:

    You know what they say about idle hands! Haha! Love the look. Happy almost-Halloween. 🙂

  2. Now your talking!
    Fantabooolously scary!!!!

  3. Good God woman. I don’t do my manis. I keep my toes red. But I’ll stick around for a bottle of wine and watch you do yours. Only if you promise to take a long time. Champagne also works. And a lil oj. I’ll bring pjs for my house warming…

  4. You have too much free time, but this is pretty cool! Makes me wish I could paint my nails without being judged!

  5. Phil Lanoue says:

    Well at least you gave some dopey old bag something to talk about later with her husband… “You wouldn’t believe the nails I saw on this lady at the grocery store today! I think she is part of an evil cult. Oh, and I bet she drinks too.”

  6. they look pawesome! =^.^=

  7. Susie says:

    LLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

  8. Ms B. BAD says:

    there is no way you did those after 4 glasses of wine?!! They came out sooooo good!! I should have tried this mani!

  9. Love the nails! Wish I had both the aptitude and patience to do cool nail designs on myself.

  10. I love your mani. So creative! I like it a lot.

  11. FreeUrCloset says:

    Very True Blood. You’re on a roll, gf. Even better than the last one!

  12. silverkis says:

    This looks AWESOME!!! So Halloweeny!

  13. Hahaha, did you REALLY say the devil made you do it? : D
    I love them! Sooo much, they pop like crazy.
    And SH White is notoriously hard to apply. Have you tried Sinful Colors Snow Me White or Essie Blanc?

    • I really did say that. It just kind of came out… I never seem to think before I speak. Wonder if that’s because I’m blonde? 🙂

      The trick for me in applying the SH White was a very thin layer first, followed by a thick second layer. My problem though is staying in the damn lines of my fingernails! I haven’t tried the Sinful or Essie whites – are they easier? I do love both brands, so I’d assume so.

      • Hahaha I love that!!!
        But was the lady at the grocery store like sort of passive aggressive ‘why would you paint them like that?’ or just asking? (For some reason, that’s just really fascinating to me… Idk.)
        Yeah, that’s what I do too, thin layer followed by another. But it’s still the hardest to apply of all those three (I sound like an expert, but I’ve applied them like 6 times in total : P But I read lots of reviews, plus, I can’t be bovvered to apply something that’s too stubborn and floods my cuticles, because I’m super OCD about it)
        Sinful colors is the best for under nail art, cause one (ONE!) coat is opaque. I’m wearing it in my garlic manicure – you don’t want to be waiting for ages when you want to do nail art over it. And Blanc by Essie, I’ve only worn it once, I have a short review on my blog, the thing is, it’s slightly harder to apply then Sinful Colors, you need two thin coats, but to wear it on its own – it’s SO pretty. Like, really. And if you wear SH White on its own I feel it looks like tipex. 🙂
        That’s my monster of a comment. But I hope you get something out of it 🙂

  14. filbio says:

    I think they look cool! Happy Halloween!

  15. dannadesigns says:

    Fantastic blood curdling nails…. Great work they look perfect!

  16. SerachShiro says:

    Your dripped digits are awesome 🙂 and have a beautiful evening for tomorrow, you will for sure steel the show ! Xoxo

  17. adinparadise says:

    Just like Lady Macbeth. 🙂

Holla at me!

