Weekend Winks – Sheetfaced Style

Boxed wine, football and a fur ball rounded out my Nashville weekend of fun.

Fangtastic Friday

Fangtastic Friday night compliments of wine trickling out of cardboard.

As I got my vino on, Ted became less and less impressed with being the remote control holder as I thought it grew more and more funny.

Remote holder

My mom can suck it.

Getting my ass out of bed for an early Saturday am hot yoga class (I can still seriously sleep ’til noon like an 11th grader in high school) proved how much I love my mediocre (this year) Iowa Hawkeyes. With an 11am kick off looming as I sweat like a pig, I just kept thinking about all of the tailgating goodies waiting for me.

Sweatin' to shine at hot yoga on Saturday am.

My ass appropriately kicked in 103 heat.

My hard work was rewarded as soon as I stepped foot into my parent’s house. Mom was just setting out all of the spooky tailgating treats.

Treats

I work out, therefore I pig out.

My mom was anxious for me to try the dried beef cheeseball. She remembers having it at her grandma’s when she was a kid and I remember having it when I was at parties as a kid, which apparently means it was the first appetizer ever. In the history of the world.

First appetizer known to man.

First appetizer known to man.

I got the precious bottle of moonshine out, in hopes that we’d be able to keep our extremely classy family tradition of shots after Hawkeye scores alive.

Prepped the shine.

Preppin’ the party punch.

And whatta ya know, our team scored on the opening drive.

Cheers!

Cheers!

But then the game got boring. So yawn worthy that my dad and I couldn’t rip our eyeballs away from our phones.

Booring

Football maniacs.

And my mom couldn’t keep her eyes open.

Napster

Moonshine makes your eyelids heavy.

Camera love

Mom obviously loves a camera as much as I do.

But then, the game suddenly got exciting, dramatic and went into overtime. It was so exciting Dad had to get up and do a dance. Complete with jazz hands.

OT BABY!

OT BABY!

And as the Hawks scored for a game winning touchdown, we were happy to do another moonshine shot. And then another because our team won. Don’t you like our reasoning?

Shots!

Shots make victories taste better.

After keeping my shine glistening all day, I hunkered down on the couch with my favorite fur ball and watched scary shows in my heavily Halloween decorated mini manse.

headless hauting

Headless Halloween fun.

Teddy Kruger got so scared that he ran for cover in his Juicy Couture Pussy Palace.

Juicy Pussy Palace protection

Sleeping through the scary.

After so much horror gore, Mr. Bear couldn’t get out of bed on Sunday so he lolligagged for most of the daylight hours. Which is OK because I need him bright-eyed and bushy-tailed for our upcoming Halloween shenanigans this week…

Lazy Bear

Lazy Bear

I mustered up my own energy and made a version of gumbo. I don’t know what’s come over me (as I typically like to pour my supper from a box into a bowl and douse it with milk) but it turned out pretty damn good (if you like bland, Midwestern, not-at-all-spicy food).

Gumbo

No mumbo jumbo in my gumbo.

As the weekend wound down, I found myself terrified after realizing I’m 27 days late on a homework assignment from the big guy who wears a red suit.

I'm late...uh oh.

I’m already on the naughty list. Surprised?

Hopefully I’ll be forgiven as Halloween is like Christmas to me. Think that will count?

Happy Haunting this week!

CBXB

CBXB!

32 thoughts on “Weekend Winks – Sheetfaced Style

  1. Boxed wine? I’ll have to give that a try…you really do have some awesome ‘rents!

    • Boxed wine isn’t as bad as it sounds. Although, if you are used to drinking bottles of wine that cost $20 per bottle, it’s not for you! But you get 3L per box. Sometimes 4L for about $18 – $25. Worth the moola!

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    Haha I love how you sandwiched yoga with wine & other adult beverages. That’s my kind of self-care! Also, that food lucks deliiiiish.

  3. Haha, so different than my fam!
    So entertaining! 😉
    Btw, I want to try hot yoga, I love yoga, like regular, sweaty but cold yoga, and I really want to try hot, that is when my metatarsal heals, but how do you find it?

    • Yeah, my family isn’t very traditional, as you can see!
      Being that you’re from London, I’m not sure where to tell you to go – however, often times hot yoga is also called Bikram. I just Googled Bikram yoga London and here’s what came up:
      https://www.google.com/#q=bikram+yoga+london
      If you do end up going, you need to give it some time. I HATED it the first few times I went but stuck with it and am now in love with it – and all of the stinky things that come with it!! 🙂

  4. FreeUrCloset says:

    I always buy my boxed wine at Target. It’s the best way to go.
    Where’d you get that Santa list? We’d like to put our requests in now 😉

    • Mrs. Claus sent the list to me – I’m hooked up to the North Pole like that. She’ll probably be sending you guys one soon.
      I wish I could buy my wine at Target! Stupid Tennessee state laws prohibit wine and liquor being sold where beer is sold. It’s horrific!!

  5. Jazz hands rock!
    Your family looks like a seriously fun bunch – not really a big surprise, apple / tree / yaddah yaddah…
    Flattered that the Juicy C Pussy Palace title stuck!

  6. What a great and fun family you have!! I love this post!! ❤

    Visit my blog if you wish, I have a little surprise/news for all my followers! ❤

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com

  7. LifeOfBun says:

    Your posts are so refreshingly honest and saucey! Had to look up what Gumbo is and it sounds yummy ^_^ those shots look even yummier though. What’s your favorite type of shot – in the world?

    • Well, thank you my dear. My blog wouldn’t work if I wasn’t honest…and I am a little saucy, so there you have it! 🙂 Gumbo is pretty tasty. If ever we get together, I will make it for you! My favorite shot in the world….hmm…let me think….narrow down…oh wow I have a lot of booze on the brain….I pick a chocolate cake shot. It’s vodka, Frangelico and something else. The glass is rimmed with sugar and some how, some way, the damn shot tastes like chocolate cake when it’s all said and done!

  8. vudragovich says:

    Any reasoning to drink is good reasoning! And do not be giving Mr Bear kitty night mares, it cuts into his sleeping time and affects how much time he has to scow at you 😀

    • Yes! Any reason to drink is good reasoning. You are my kid of people!
      You are spot on about the cutting into Bear’s scowling time. I’m letting him get all kinds of beauty sleep before forcing him into his Halloween costume…you know how much fun that will be…!

  9. Phil Lanoue says:

    That photo of you and dad on your phones is priceless.
    Somehow I’m thinking that just maybe a certain grey furster is not totally pumped about what the upcoming Halloween celebration is going to do to his lifestyle. (and by lifestyle I of course mean sleeping and eating, with the occasional dump thrown in there somewhere)

    • Your assumptions about the upcoming disruption to Mr. Bear’s lifestyle would be correct…I will most likely be paying until Thanksgiving, which works out perfectly as that’s when we typically snap our Christmas pics. It’s an endless cycle!

  10. filbio says:

    Boxed wine? No. Just no. As for Gumbo – always! Moonshine too!

  11. adinparadise says:

    Looks like all those spooky treats, not to mention the shots and the boxed wine, may well undo all the good your workout did for you. 🙂

  12. Your gumbo looks delicious.

  13. kellisamson says:

    I’ll fill out a list like that from Mrs. Clause! And I just love it when your dad’s in a post! He cracks me up! Love the jazz hands!

  14. SerachShiro says:

    You guys begin good the weekend with all these delicious appetizers! Popcorn Suttan’s I’ve never tried, I think I will be on fire and scary movies are a must during Halloween ! You are already on the naughty list of Santa ? But you are such a ” good girl ” ! 🙂

    • We love our appetizers! Popcorn Sutton is a pretty potent whiskey that will get you into trouble if you’re not careful! Scary movies are a must on Halloween – I hope you enjoy!!
      And I have submitted my Santa list…hopefully removing me from the naughty list! 🙂

  15. marisaporter says:

    I love that you guys know how to celebrate as a family!

Holla at me!

