Holiday Hijinks

Holidays are meant to be spent with the ones we love and while it was my first Christmas away from family, I was with them in spirit (in more ways than one).

Muggin' with my fave Christmas moose mug.

Keeping the spirit alive this Christmas.

As I was getting my Griswold style drinking on, my twin niece and nephew were anxiously awaiting their first visit from Santa Claus.

Nestled in for Christmas Eve!

Can you tell the naughty from the nice?

While I was frolicking in my pjs and presents Christmas morning,

Santa!

Santa!

Ted was dressed in his finest green tree garb.

Meowy Christmas Bitches!

Meowy Christmas! My mom is a bitch.

As I was wrestling my Nashville cat, my sister was wrangling her two little munchkins in Iowa.

First Christmas

No worries. Santa found us. Gigi and Cray Cray found us. Auntie CBXB found us….

Keeping the love of shoes alive in this family (I mean, someone has to do it) I gifted little B her first pair of cowboy boots – it’s the first shoe any niece needs from an aunt living in Nashville, right?

Boot hater

New shoe lover. Be still my beating heart.

What first Christmas would be complete without a brand new swimsuit? I know, I know. I’m the best aunt ever. Cowboy boots and swimsuits – because all kids love receiving clothes.

horrible first Christmas

Horrible first Christmas.

Cutest Hawkeye ever.

Cutest Hawkeye ever.

Santa didn’t forget dear old Mr. Bear, either. He received a PetSmart gift card for his ultra cheap $60-a-bag cat foot (Ted has food allergies – you know, being low maintenance and all) which he was less than thrilled about.

Gee, thanks.

Gee, thanks.

When I told TB I was going to spend it on his food, he could have cared less. Little shit.

Such a snore.

Such a snore.

After lounging the day away, it was time for more moose to come out and play. Only this time there was a handsomely poured shot of peppermint moonshine in light up glasses.

Could it get any better? NO.

Moose!

Moose? Mooses? Or Meese? You be the judge.

Being away from family over the holiday, I thought I would be beyond lonely. But because of fabulous friends (and cocktails and Ted of course), I never had a moment to feel alone.

Like fam

Feeling not sorry for myself.

New traditions were put in place this holiday season. Like, wearing your food.

Scared?

Scared of my Bugle claws, aren’t you?

And fun times in downtown Nashville with those I love.

Four and photoing

Help. My glass is empty.

What do you do after what seems like endless Fireball shots being doled out at the bar?

You hold a photo shoot, of course.

Photo shoot!

Does my hair look good like this? Look at me, damnit!

Runaway bride eyes.

Runaway bride eyes.

Waiting for the Ford Modeling Agency to call. Clearly.

Waiting for the Ford Modeling Agency to call. Clearly.

After annoying the bar staff into oblivion, the rest of the evening kind of seemed to go like this…

Um...

Um…

And the next thing I know, I’m like this…

Just chill Mama

WTF happened to you last night, Ma?

What’s more fun than taking Christmas decor down hungover?

Nothing.

Not even when your cat not so delicately hoists his ass up on your piano top among glitter deer.

Which one of these is not like the other?

Which one of these is not like the other?

Tedstar is drawn to all things glittery like his mother. I think he secretly wants his fur to glisten.

Delicate.

Jealous much Mr. Bear?

I distracted Ted with tinsel while I went outside to cheat on him.

Oblivious

Oblivious.

With this new little furball who sauntered into my outside nook at the mini-manse. He just appeared one day this December and I really want to let him in the house (especially when he follows me to the door) but I need to have him checked by the vet first.

I should adopt him, shouldn't I?

I should adopt him, shouldn’t I?

And I don’t have a cat carrier (because Ted rides swaddled in my lap while in a vehicle).

And I need to have a seriously long talk with Teddy to see if he’d be on board. He, too was a rescue kitty. Although now he lives like a king and can’t remember living a peasant life.

Speaking of living a king’s lifestyle, His Royal Highness Ted E. Bear helped me drive to the vet for his yearly check-up.

Helping paw.

A helping paw.

But as it turns out, the feline king had partied too hard the night before (wonder where he gets that trait?) and had an upchucking accident in the car. All over the steering wheel. And my leg. And my purse. And his blanket.

Let's hope this doesn't repeat itself New Year's Eve.

Even royalty falls from the throne once in a while.

Let’s hope this doesn’t repeat itself New Year’s Eve.

Cheers!

CBXB

CBXB!

79 thoughts on “Holiday Hijinks

  1. Good times y’all. You can get an inexpensive cardboard cat carrier from Petco (or whatever you have down there) and it would work just fine. I say keep/rescue the new kitty, she couldn’t have a better home! Happy 2014!!!

    • Happy New Year my fabulous friend! Thanks for the info on a cardboard carrier – never knew they existed! The cat was outside today before I left for work and today would have been the day if I’d had a cat carrier. Going to pick one up after work. Wish me luck…Ted may be less than thrilled…

  2. Love those glasses and as I’ve said before you don’t choose cats they choose you – looks like you’ve been chosen – Happy New Year Lovelies x

    • Happy New Year Dallas! You’re so right about the cats choosing us…looks like I’m a chosen one. Especially chosen to be a crazy cat lady! I’m a little worried as to how Teddy will react. But we’re sure to find out! XOXO

  3. John says:

    Happy new year to you!

  4. JMC813 says:

    Love your hi jinx CBXB. Maybe that should be the name of yer second kitty kiddy if ya decide to adopt. Teddy Bear and Hijinks. Sounds like a Cartoon. I would watch that for sure. LOL. Saturday Mornings with a gargantuan bowl of cereal and two crazy cats up to no good. LOL.

    Always enjoy your stories friend. HAPPY NEW YEAR. Be safe and keep inspiring

    John

    • Happy New Year John! I love the name Hijinx! And envisioning a cartoon sounds pretty easy since Ted is already a handful. I’m not sure how I can’t adopt the little cutie outside. If we ever make it to be cartoon stars, I’ll supply you with endless amounts of cereal!

      • JMC813 says:

        I hope you do and Teddy Bear is as welcoming as you are. Can’t wait for the cartoon antics to burst forth from your blog pages. It’ll be like being a kid again. (Instead of this giant kid trapped in an adults body and life. lol) Oh and BTW. Crunch Berries. Endless amounts of Crunch Berries please. LOL.
        Best wishes.

        John

      • John – your Crunch Berry wish is my command! And there’s already been a new development. A different little stray I’ve been feeding showed up at my door after work last night in 17 degree weather soaking wet. So, being a cray cat lady, I brought him in, kept him in the bathroom and he’s now at the vet this am. Looking for a sweet back and white tuxedo cat, perhaps?! Good company for that cartoon watching! I will buy extra Crunch Berry….

      • JMC813 says:

        What a loving soul you are. I have not ever been much of a cat person. At least not as far as being MY pets. I get along well with other peoples cats. Kinda like the crazy uncle!!!! LOL. I hope Tennessee Tuxedo (Speaking of old cartoons, I am full of names it seems LOL) does well at the vet and you can find him a good home.

      • You are FULL of creative names – how could you make that into a business? You’d be rollin’ in the dough! I’m sure you make the best crazy uncle ever. I think you’d like Ted and after spending the day with Tennessee Tuxedo (who got a clean bill of health!), you’d like him too. πŸ™‚

      • JMC813 says:

        HaHa, you are probably too young to remember the Tennessee Tuxedo cartoon with the penguin and his sidekick Chumley the Walrus always trying to escape the zoo, but given your location and the cats markings It brought back some memories. So are you gonna keep him? And the other? Teddy must be getting a bit freaked. lol. Anyway best of luck with all your feline adventures.

      • Oh Teddy is beyond frustrated. He sits on my lap and lets out gigantic sighs. But he’s such a laid back cat that he’s not made a peep, just going with the flow. I don’t remember the cartoon but you should seriously still start a pet naming business! I’m definitely keeping him until I can find him a home, which may mean he’s mine….we’ll see…!

      • JMC813 says:

        Oh so it’s gonna be a 2 kitty family with the option on a third. lol. Just hope they don’t conspire and form a mutiny against my favorite skinny pirates.
        LOL Be well and best of luck with all the feline introductions.

      • Thanks…we’re certainly going to need all of the luck we can gather!

  5. markbialczak says:

    Oh, my, CBXB, where to start on this one? That fireball night downtown!
    Quite the lovely ‘do, dearies. How long are you banned from that joint now? Niece twinsie’s boots are rockin’, and the Hawkeyes booty bottom on the swimsuit is true loyalty. Great gift-givin’ Auntie! Your nook kitty is a cutie. However, will Teddy B ever agree to sharing your ample affection? We shall see. Where to finish on this one? How did Teddy fit all that stuff down for later upchuck-ability on your front seat? Good Lord, cat! And, have a safe trip to Hawkeyland and Happy New Year to you, my good friend.

    • Mark! Happy New Year!
      I am not necessarily banned from our Fireball night, however, I will be switching locations next time we venture downtown…maybe a self imposed ban?!
      Niecey is still rockin’ the boots but her mom made her take the swimsuit off, as it’s -10 in Iowa. Meanie!
      As for Teddy sharing affection..I’m not too sure how that’s going to go but we are soon to find out..I just can’t leave the other cat outside much longer. And if it doesn’t work with us, I will find him a good home.
      Teddy has a large stomach (takes after me) so he’s able to pack in all of his fancy food. And that’s why there was so much all over the steering wheel. Fun times!
      Hope you and yours had a fabulous NYE!

  6. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    Happy New Years to all you crazies over there! Just make sure Ted does not get too hungover this year.

    • Ted is still in recovery. He didn’t move a muscle this morning as I left for work. I had to check to make sure he was still breathing. I’ve partied him out over the last two weeks! Hope your New Year got started off with all kinds of fun!

  7. kellisamson says:

    Ooh! A new kitty!? I love this development…

    • YES! I am so torn up as to what to do. Of course I am going to take him in but worried about how Teddy will respond, as he is the center of my universe. The new kitty was waiting outside this am for me and that pretty much sealed the deal…adding another notch of crazy to my belt!

  8. FreeUrCloset says:

    Awww…I want them pink cowboy boots in my size..they’re sweeeet! And the kitty?…he’s a keeper πŸ˜‰ xoxo

  9. yeah..adopt the little guy………….cat lady

  10. Oh my, I think TB is going to be happy to have a friend :).

    • Thanks for the reassurance My Faves! I’ve been really worried about it. Going to take the new cat in this weekend for check-up/shots before I bring him inside. That is, if I can get him into a cat carrier that I will be purchasing…shall be interesting I’m sure!

  11. Nancy Brown says:

    Take the kitty! Love the pink boots! Do they come in my size? Love you!

  12. gilvania gil says:

    Follow you, follow me?
    I’m from Brazil, I loved your blog

    http://gilvaniagil.com/

  13. Aussa Lorens says:

    Aw! You should most definitely adopt the poor upchucking stray! I hope his vet checkup went okay… and I can’t get over how adorable your niece and nephew are– swimsuit and cowboy boots, yep: BEST AUNT EVER!

    Happy New Year!

    • Oh yes, I’m into buying affection! And I think it’s slowly working. πŸ™‚
      That was Ted throwing up in the car. He’s so dramatic. The new kitty will go to the vet this weekend…that is if I can lure him into a cat carrier that I’m purchasing tonight. I will force Teddy to love him!!
      Happy New Year to you to my friend! Hope this year is filled with non-stalkers for you!

  14. marisaporter says:

    The picture of your sister and her little’uns is adorable! As are the baby pink cowboy boots – jealous!! Looks like you, your friends and your kitty cat had a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

  15. I was sure I’d commented here, but from my iPhone whilst on the road, so it obviously didn’t come through. 😦 I just lurv those cowboy boots. I wish you were my aunt. (Think I may have said that before.) Pity about the upchucking incident in the car. I bet it smelled divine. 😯

    • And the car still smells divine even after I cleaned it! Poor Ted. And the boots – I will keep my eye out for adult sized pink cowboy boots. They seem to be a hit among my fellow bloggers! Safe travels to you!

  16. Ms B. BAD says:

    pink cowgirl boots! SOOO CUTE! Happy New Year doll!

  17. Wishing you a very happy 2014!
    I have nominated Teddy for the β€œI am Part of the WordPress Family Award” on my bloggie =^.^=

  18. What would we do without our friends? I don’t know but it would be a very lonely world without them…thanks for sharing your great times. Always makes me smile and maybe wish I was a little youngerβ™₯

    • Friends are the family you pick for yourself, aren’t they? I’m lucky I found some gems here in Nashville. Ever want to feel a little younger, you know where you should vacation…I’d be an excellent tour guide!

  19. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    THE CATS ARE WONDERFUL AND I’M GLAD HER FRIENDS ARE TOO!!!

  20. Lord woman, you party all night and end up with another cat! Ted isn’t going to be happy. Next time you’re out this late Ted will probably change the locks and lock the door. Just sayin’.

  21. Phil Lanoue says:

    Oh wow! Are you going to adopt that other kitty! You have too because it found YOU! That’s how it works,
    Our two are rescues as well but their life as street strays is a distant memory.
    Love Ted with the glitter deer!

  22. Mitzie Mee says:

    Looks like you had a great Christmas. Cheers to the Christmas spirit (especially the peppermint flavored one) πŸ™‚

  23. Why am I not surprised to see a rockin pink Christmas tree??? Looks like you were in the holiday spirit all month!!
    Jenna

  24. Kev Ollier says:

    Skype means you can leave the family every year! πŸ™‚

  25. Merry (late) Christmas! reversecommuter took a couple of weeks off (at first I was shaking a little from withdrawal) but I am back, and jonesing for some Ted E Bear sheeeenanigans. The neice’s boots are BEYOND fabulous, obviously.
    HNY TOO! xo

  26. stylentonic says:

    Happy new year my crazy girl! Kissssssssss

  27. SerachShiro says:

    Love all the gorgeous photos and teddy is such a beauty but the new kitten is also so sweet, what is your heart going to do ? I just would like to say now follow it ! Happy New Year darling πŸ™‚ !

Holla at me!

