How to Be Somebody at a Grammy Party

When I was invited to attend a Grammy viewing party sponsored by the Nashville chapter of The Recording Academy, how could I say no?

Like I’d ever say no to a party. In a bar. With cocktails. And food. And photo booths.

Holla at the Grammy party.

Four somebodies at a Grammy party.

What does one wear when the invitation states, “dress to impress” as the advised attire?

What

To leopard or not? Boots or heels? Oh the woes.

Selfies helped narrow down the wardrobe before I was all set to make my appearance.

How do I look?

All gussied up with somewhere to go.

Upon arriving to the gala, I prepped myself to walk the extremely short, fairly stained, freshly vacuumed red carpet.

nothing but glamour

Walk of fame.

As no media was present, I shouted my own name acting as paparazzi while I traipsed down the crimson rug.

Acting as own paparazzo

Hey CBXB! Look right here!

Meeting up with my posse, we beelined for the bar (Anyone surprised? Anyone?) prior to taking our seats.

Patiently witing

Ready to mingle.

Because I’m not a fan of standing for hours, I make a habit of arriving as soon as the doors of a venue open (completely being ‘uncool’ as all of the other Nashville hipsters arrive fashionably late).

Start time

No one on the floor but me and the DJ… but my ass will get a seat. Hallelujah!

I sat guzzling wine and flipping through the evening’s program, admiring my V.I.P. paper bracelet that so hideously clashed with my other accessories and watched all of the other somebodies arrive for the show.

Took my seat

If I were a true V.I.P. I probably wouldn’t need this bracelet now would I?

Assessing Nashville’s interpretation of “dress to impress” footwear choices had me arriving at the conclusion that this city embellishes their feet for comfort. Classy comfort.

All kinds of footwear

Sensible wedges, sneakers and cowboy boots, oh my…

Guess which is me?

I missed the comfort memo.

As the venue filled up, I was a happy camper conversing with old friends and enjoying fabulous new times.

Image 18

Party time!

Does this wine match my nail polish? Does it?!

I forced deep conversations with my trio of gents that probably made their ears want to start bleeding.

Seriously? Who is Pharrell's hat?

Do you think Pharrell was trying to mimic Smokey the Bear by wearing that God awful hat?

No seriously, do you?

No seriously, do you?

When they couldn’t take the fashion talk anymore, my buddies lured my vocal chords into remission by announcing the presence of a photo booth near the exit.

Record scratch.

A what?

Let me touch up my lipstick…

Take 1

No talking during photo taking…

Booth 2

Apparently no smiling during photo taking, either.

Kiss my...

We weren’t meant to be models. Clearly.

And while we hoarded the booth (much to my insistence) for a quarter of an hour, we forever captured the essence of us being our best version of somebodies in snapshots.

Lucky us.

CBXB

CBXB!

23 thoughts on “How to Be Somebody at a Grammy Party

  1. When you live with an international media star, it’s red carpet treatment all the way

  2. Kaufman's Kavalkade says:

    Muahahahaha. The selfie is so going in #teddy4pres. you shall be forever shoeless. 😉

  3. markbialczak says:

    Fabulous night, obviously, CBXB. They even got a duck face out of you in the photo booth!

  4. Such a fun post! Your photos remind be of that song, ‘When you’ve got it, flaunt it’. 🙂
    “Ven you got it, flaunt it
    Step right up and strut your stuff
    People tell you modesty’s a wirtue
    But in the theatre modesty can hurt you
    Ven you got it, flaunt it
    Show your assets, let them know you’re proud
    Your goodies you must push
    Stick out your chest, shake your tush
    Ven you got it, shout it out loud.”

    Love the shoes, but I could never actually walk in them. I’d need a wheelchair. 😀

  5. You’re truly living da life. 🙂

  6. Mitzie Mee says:

    Red carpets are highly addictive. However, I suggest that you ask whether you could do a re-design of the VIP-bracelet next year:)

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Let’s go through the checklist:
    A Party Featuring…
    Bar
    Cocktails
    Food
    Photos
    How could you not be there?!?
    And looks like you had fun! But again, how could you not?

    I thought Pharell’s hat was the Arbys logo.

  8. SerachShiro says:

    You were a great V.I.P. there at the Grammy party and maybe it was better to put on your Cowboy boots but at least you was different between all the other girls ! Very lovely snapshots 🙂 !

Holla at me!

