Weekend Winks – Super Bowl and Sequins

A Nashville weekend jam-packed with sports, sequins and kitty cats.

Sounds like a dream come true, doesn’t it?

It's not a Super Bowl without a few sparkly sequins.

It’s not a Super Bowl without a few sequins.

Friday found me attending a Nashville Predators hockey game, where I had full expectations of yet another disappointing loss. However much to my delight, the Preds defeated the New Jersey Devils in overtime. Holla!

Fang fingers!

Fang fingers!

The win deserved to be celebrated, so my group trekked down Broadway looking for any establishment that didn’t have a two-mile line to get in. When we solidified our spot, everyone before our group and everyone after our group was carded. No one in our gang needed to whip out their ID as the bouncer said, “You’re with this guy?(a friend with few strands of gray hair) He’s old enough, I’m sure you are too.” Tear.

Reminiscing

Reminiscing about the good old days of looking under 21.

Inquiring minds have been asking about New Cat (a freezing stray that showed up at our door a few weeks back), who is still in residence under my roof. You know how folks say after three days company starts smelling a little fishy? Then you can only imagine how Ted is feeling about New Cat after three weeks….

House guest smelling a little fish to TEd

A real, live shadow for Teddy.

While I thought New Cat was enjoying his warm, cozy digs I second guessed that notion after catching him trying to commit suicide from my second balcony porch this weekend.

Suicide attempt

Only nine lives there, NC.

On a side note, this is really one of the sweetest, cuddliest cats I’ve ever seen. In the market for a little fur baby? I’ll drive him to a fabulous home…

Ever go dumpster diving? I didn’t think it was really a sport until I saw this set of glasses calling my name from the neighborhood trash can.Β  Couldn’t help but slam on the brakes and carefully load my new glasses into the car.

One man's trash is apparently my treasure

Trashy treasure for me!

My two little Iowa rug rats were so excited for the Super Bowl that they stood up and cheered about it on Sunday morning.

A standing ovation on Super Bow day.

A standing ovation for football.

While the twins were busy giving their legs a workout, my favorite feline was busy soaking in all of the fun from the Kitten Bowl.

Me and my MVP

Me and my MVP.

Of course there were parties to attend in honor of football’s biggest night.Β  Remember how I said it’s not a Super Bowl without sequins? I meant to also include Jell-O shots in that statement.

Jell-O! Remember how I said what's a super bowl without sequins? I meant Jell-I too.

Ain’t no party like a Super Bowl party…

I elbowed my way up to the well stocked bar as soon as I made my grand entrance.

Bee line to the bar.

Too bad there’s no liquor to consume.

Guess which glass I chose to guzzle from the entire evening?

Size matters

Size matters.

When the whistle blew, we had our game faces on.

Game face on.

Nice grill.

The spread of food would have easily covered a football field.

Food galore.

It keeps going…

And more...

…and going….

Oyster appearance

…and going….

Bets and tasty footballs

…and going…

Did I mention that there were Jell-O shots?

Did I mention Jell-O?

No pressure but you should probably have one. Or five.

While the game started to suck shit even before halftime, our crowd was ready for some Bruno Mars entertainment.

Bruno ready!

Bring us Bruno, baby!

Hello Lovah.

80 inches of one fabulously fine performer.

While no one likes to see a Super Bowl blow out, there’s really only one thing you can do to keep from being bored…

Celebrate Bruno the only way I know how.

Jell-O. For winners, losers and boredom.

Even sweet Buddy the dog was forced to sniff the gelatinous goodness due to the snooze fest of a game.

Buddy was even

No worries. I did Buddy’s shot for him.

A few rounds of Jell-O made even the dreariest of commercials hilarious.

Wishing I was this happy this am....

Game? What game?

Wishing I was feeling that happy on this Monday morning…

Congrats to the Seattle Seahawks!

Cheers!

CBXB

CBXB!

57 thoughts on “Weekend Winks – Super Bowl and Sequins

  1. Kaufman's Kavalkade says:

    You are such a ham,

    And I’m pretty sure New Cat now has a green card and resident status at least at this point. He kinda deserves a name now.

  2. rynolexson says:

    Aw little Teddy has a friend, maybe he will stay? I also take in strays thinking I will give them good homes and then they end up with a name and collar. Good luck on that one!

  3. marisaporter says:

    I am super bowl partying vicariously through you. Glad I read this post. It was the only party I got.

  4. st sahm says:

    Ok. Besides your post exploding with kid and kitty cuteness, free retro glasses and jello shots all I got from this was a new phrase – ”suck shit”
    Love it. Thanks.

  5. What a pawesome weekend! We don’t have the superbowl bt it sure seems like fun! Love Teddy’s shadow! hehe!

  6. markbialczak says:

    I think New Cat is the perfect name, permanent and for good, CBXB. And I mean even when you’ve had him long enough that his friend has a few strands of gray (aw, Teddy) and you don’t have to ID New Cat either. Your Super Bowl party-choice seems to have been a winner, too, what with an 80-ounce cup to drink from, an 80-inch TV to watch Bruno Mars on, 80 deviled eggs to munch, and 80 Jell-O shots to slurp. NIce!

  7. How about calling NC Princess? Rosebud?
    Or how about being witty and calling him/her “Hello”? As in Hello Kitty?

  8. Looks like quite a party. I don’t think I’ve ever had a Jell-o shot, but Buddy doesn’t look too keen to try it. πŸ™‚ My Super Bowl party was a bit more sedate than yours, but that’s not difficult. πŸ˜€

  9. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    I didn’t even watch the Super Bowl, and it looks like I didn’t miss much anyway!

  10. John says:

    Better! πŸ˜‰

  11. markbialczak says:

    I nominate you for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award, CBXB, for your love and devotion of Teddy, The New Cat, Moonshine, sequins, Skinny Pirates, the twinsies, Jell-O shots, the Hawkeyes, and me and my blog, not necessarily in that order. http://markbialczak.com/2014/02/03/for-the-dragons-loyalty-award-ill-melt-snow/

  12. The football strawberries are fab!
    Nothing like a rainbow of jell-o shots to absorb a sucky football game – ditto the sequins Princess!

  13. Ms B. BAD says:

    i could have used some jello shots during the game for sure. It started to get so painful to watch.

  14. Teddy needs a BFF. You know they say animals tend to live longer if they’ve got friends. πŸ˜‰

    Love your photos. I miss going to hockey games…well, specifically, Blackhawk games.

  15. SerachShiro says:

    Hi baby, you had a great time there and even on the Dutch News TV they send a view minutes of this sport event with Bruno Mars,…….Ooh I want a Yellow-O shot ! If you want in 15 min. you can take a look at my blog because you’ve been tagged in my latest post πŸ™‚ ! Hugs – SΓ©rach

  16. kellisamson says:

    yay, Seahawks! Looks like a fun party, for sure! I thought of you when Bruno Mars came on – now my husband is a fan. He was like, “I’ve never heard of this man.” He lives in the dark ages!! I am giving a wicked evil laugh about the twins standing up – your sis is in for it now!!!!

    • OMFG. BRUNO. Ah, my love Bruno. I’m a bigger fan of your Debbie Gibson buying hubs now that he thinks Bruno rocks, too! Oh and the twins standing….she’s trying to prep for the tornado that’s about to be her life as best as she can!

  17. LifeOfBun says:

    I want to have jello shots so bad! Rainbow colored and pink ones in particular. Still haven’t tried any, people don’t do that here. Every kind of beer, sure, but amusing drinks, noooo. Love the “trashy treasure”, i’ll remember that name to win Hippo over, convince him buying glorious junk is a matter of national security.

    • I love your tactic in getting Hippo to buy you glorious junk and I think by calling it “trashy treasure” you’ll be sure to get tons! We need to change the amusing drinks thought process over there! If you throw the party, I’ll bring the Jell-O shots.

  18. curvyroads says:

    Ha, now I want a jello shot! πŸ˜€

  19. Phil Lanoue says:

    I bet Ted would grow to really like a friend after not too long of a time.
    The game yanked but the food and booze always seems to make everything better.

  20. elkee says:

    Awww! More pics of New cat!! Love the trashy treasure by the way.

  21. Uh, I can’t believe I missed the Kitten Bowl!!! I will I was near you to help out with New Cat :). Hey, I like your trashy treasure. Score!!!

    • I have to say, the Kitten Bowl was pretty dang k-ute. I’ll remind you of it next year before the Super Bowl!
      I wish you were closer to help with New Cat and to hang out. I would serve you cocktails in my new trashy treasure!

Holla at me!

