How to Stretch Out a Party

I’ve never met a day I couldn’t celebrate, especially when it involves my date of birth.

Ole!

Ole!

Remember the fun celebrations of yesteryear, where all the school kids would line up on your special day for a piece of cake and a party favor?

Party!

The beginning of my celebratory spirit. The more, the merrier.

Well now that I’m an adult (I use that term loosely) and most of the folks I know have real grown-up lives (you know, mortgages, spouses, babies, jobs – which I know nothing about except for the work part) it’s harder to get everyone together for one celebration. Which means that I streeeeeetch the occasion out for as long as humanly possible.

On my actual birthday, I was greeted with tasty lunchtime treats followed by a 9 hour work meeting.

Wish my work buddies knew me better.

Wish my work buddies knew me better.

Upon the adjournment of our conference the work boys wined and dined me, starting with a light-up cocktail menu that had to be pried from my paws when the waiter came to take it away.

Light up menu solves everything.

The only way this menu could get better was if there was a mirror on one side.

Birthday love

Feeling the love.

Wish I may I wish I might stretch my birthday out 'til next Friday night.

Wish I may, wish I might stretch my birthday out ’til next Friday night.

The week continued with a surprise visit from my fave Real Housewife from the South where we celebrated our mutual love of vodka.

Still sizzlin'

Presence is the best present!

'tini time.

Strawberry martinis never disappoint.

Cake!

Dessert #2 for the second straight night…

With wine and vodka under my sparkly birthday belt, it was time to party down with tequila.

Lime in the coconut time!

Birthdays make you thirsty.

Shits and giggles.

Margaritas make you topsy-turvy.

I-ei-ei-ei...love fri-ie-ie-ied ice cream!

Dessert three nights in a row makes your hips curvy.

As the handsome staff surrounded our table with song, I was also sweetly smothered in whipped cream.

Sing to me.

Laugh all you want. I’m keeping this sombrero.

Thing is…the hat was heavier than anticipated.

Marg me

Straining my neck for the love of tequila.

The burdensome headpiece proved to thwart all ability to sip margaritas with any shred of dignity.

Heavy crown.

Balancing act fail.

So I decided to keep the crown down, taking it easy on the high maintenance neck.

So I kept my head down.

Bow down to the gaudy crown.

What better way to round out the party spree than spending it with Ma and my beloved rum?

Mama and me.

The grand finale.

My Skinny Pirate loving ass took to the bar stool that should have my name etched in it at Dalts (my Nashville version of Cheers).

photo 4

Captain Morgan I am obviously not.

The bday week wouldn’t have been complete without a little March Madness and a bloody mary now would it?

Winding down

The perfect wind down.

Like I ever wind down...

Like I ever wind down.

At least my fabulous friend knew exactly what I would need come Sunday evening.

Sunday

…for after all the celebrating is over…

Exhausting.

Clearly working off all of the extra calories consumed through the week was a major concern.

Party on indeed.

CBXB

CBXB!

 

 

30 thoughts on “How to Stretch Out a Party

  1. markbialczak says:

    If there’s ever an opening, I will send you a resume and cover letter to become your personal photographer, CBXB. If you pay by the photo, cha-ching, I could be rich! Love them all. The look in your eyes from day one to day done is very tell-tale. You had a good week, my friend.

    • You’re hired as a photographer! Just be prepared for endlessly snapping pics because it will feel never ending. Trust me.
      I just had to squeeze every last drop of ooey gooey birthday fun out of the month!

  2. Remember there are two “i’s” in insanity… After the week of celebrating, tequila included, I can only imagine seeing four. I’m glad you had a wonderful time. Happy new year!

  3. Glad I could be of service with a practical gift ha ha!

  4. SerachShiro says:

    You sure know how to loose all these calories but what the hack it was fun great fun and that’s all what counts, (by the way I wish that I could drink that delicious strawberry Martini, it looked devine ! ) Xxx

  5. JMC813 says:

    Party on CBXB…….Party on Garth. You absolutely RAWK at stretching out the celebratory situations. The Skinny Piratess gots skillz. LOL

    • I think that because rum pumps through my veins, it enables me to use every excuse in the book to meet someone for a cocktail in honor of my birthday. I mean, I can’t help if someone wants to celebrate with me, now can I?

      • JMC813 says:

        No you cannot. Why would ya? Squeeze every last drop. Now there is only 11.something months to the next one my friend. But I am sure you will find a way to photobomb yourself into a few OTHER celebrations before then. LOL. Rawk on CBXB

      • Oh yes. No celebration for anyone is complete without me in the background of a photo!

  6. Sounds like you need a year off for your liver to recover after that birthday celebration!

  7. Ajay Kumar says:

    Awesome celebration…

  8. kellisamson says:

    This reminds me of the poster my freshman roommie had in our dorm room: 365 reasons to party. Every day had a reason to celebrate :).

  9. Looks like you had a very merry birthday indeed, and you don’t look a day older. πŸ™‚ I adore that hat. You should wear it more often.

  10. LOVE LOVE LOVE the sombrero!
    Is it still acceptable to wish you a HB again, or has that expired?

  11. Happy birthday (Captain?)

  12. Mitzie Mee says:

    Happy birthday! Looks like you had a fab day! I’ve been looking forward to the accompanying blog post ever since I saw that photo with the sombrero on the Instagram:)

  13. You really know how to party and have a good time. I can’t wait to read how you’re going to celebrate this weekend.

Holla at me!

