The Great Gourd Gussy Up

Once upon a time (like yesterday) this wickedly crazy for Halloween lady decided plain old orange pumpkins weren’t for her.

Merry Halloween!

Merry Halloween!

I had sudden pangs of guilt for my three recently acquired, extremely traditional pumpkins because they sat on ordinary stairs, doing their best to decorate a very common staircase.

Plain, Plainer and Plainest.

These pumpkins longed to be dazzled up and shine their brightest in the Halloween spotlight (I mean c’mon, they’re my gourds after all – like they’d be satisfied staying a plain old orange) and because I have a knack for all things sparkly, I set out to bedazzle the hell out of my mini manse drawbridge.

It started with a few cans of contemporary magic….

All found at your local hardware castle.

…and grass magically turned silver (on accident, as I did try to protect it…kinda) when a pumpkin makeover commenced.

Shiny and Shinier.

A little metallic silver here and glossy black there and…

POOF!

Gussied up gourds in all their glory.

The poor peasant pumpkins went from mediocre to magnificent in moments.

But this Halloween monster still felt that something was missing on my little plump pretties.

Enter the masked crusaders. $2.00 each, Target.

Of course plain white accessories just wouldn’t do, so glitz was added with a witchy wave of a spray can.

Accompanied with a sprinkle of modern-day fairy dust.

And finally, garnished with glamour.

So it is with pleasure that I proudly introduce the gaudiest fairest pumpkins in all the land…

And a precious pumpkin for even the most annoying feline in the animal kingdom, New Cat.

With the help of contemporary magic, these primped up pumpkins turned an ordinary staircase into a regal entrance.

The drawbridge of my mini manse is now complete.

And they’ll live happily ever after! (Well, they’ll live until I want to get my Christmas tree out on November 1st anyway)

Don’t judge.

CBXB

CBXB!

45 thoughts on “The Great Gourd Gussy Up

  1. Yaz says:

    Very cool! It’s a pity they can’t be kept longer than a few weeks x

  2. This is awesome! Great ideas for making this Halloween fun and unique! Xoxo~ Lena

  3. Those turned out great! I love the masks. Im thinking the boys would be a cute BatCat and Robin.

  4. vudragovich says:

    I admire&commend your gourds as upstanding! When I First saw the silver one I thought of the golden egg goose and started to worry what Ted was passing! Glad it turned out okay.

  5. I’m not really judging so much as I’m thinking, “how can such fun woman not have a noncat boyfriend or husband?” Lol. Those gourds could use mouths, I think, otherwise they’re awesome! I hope you get lots of kids to your door this Halloween.

  6. markbialczak says:

    Acting! Drama! Out of your gourd!! Fabulous as usual, CBXB.

  7. I’ll admit those gourds look terrific! You should be on HGTV!

  8. CoCo says:

    Love this! I bought a mini pumpkin for my kitchen and after about a week I also felt compelled to cover it in glitter. It looks much better now. All things must sparkle!

  9. Nancy says:

    Love, Love, LOVE

  10. kellisamson says:

    Oooh, me likes!! I’d much rather do that than – gulp! – carve!

  11. Tracy says:

    OMG, those look so cool! I may have to try that!!

  12. JMC813 says:

    Your silvery Pumpkin gourd thang needs a black mask too. Or perhaps a piratey black stencil?? Love your Holiday flare my friend. Does Halloween rock or do you ROCK HALLOWEEN?!?

  13. Well look at you Queen of Craft & Creativity! Bummer about the grass but for SUCH a good cause.
    Really loving the silver – who knew?

  14. Mitzie Mee says:

    oh yes, it’s soon Halloween!! Love that silver pumpkin but the pig mask? It’s scary!

  15. You got you some nice pumpkins!

  16. SerachShiro says:

    Nooo…………I told you that I’ve still my Halloween stuff standing here and you’re already in Christmas style ? Hahaha love it (and I’m not judging )! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. SerachShiro says:

    Love your pumpkins and the are in great style !!

Holla at me!

