Weekend Winks – Holiday Prep

Oh how happy I am the holiday season is upon us and I have an excuse to drink straight from the bottle (because I’m so classy).

Holidays taste so good.

Holidays taste so good.

Packing up my rust bucket as snuggly as Santa’s sleigh, I hauled my Christmas decor back to my mini manse, excited to commence the sparkly gaudiness I like to call seasonal ornamentation.

Pack it up, pack it in.

Pack it up, pack it in.

Driver

No room for Rudolph in my sleigh.

Naturally my elves could hardly wait to lay down and take naps on my boxes of goodies as soon as I arrived home.

Inspector Gadgets 1 and 2.

Inspector Gadget #1 and #2.

Teddy sniffed and pawed every piece of shiny tinsel attached to my pink tree before allowing it to leave the box.

Nooks and crannies

King of the Christmas castle.

He also tried to end up electrocuted like the cat in Griswold Family Christmas but I was able to yank the lights away in the nick of time.

Griswold cat style

An almost fried pussy cat.

Careful not to lift a paw, my feline duo found the Christmas tree box the most relaxing venue on the planet while I assembled the tree.

Dicks in a box.

Dicks in a box.

And as soon as the pink lights glistened, positions were assumed. Being that this is New Cat’s very first holiday season with us, Ted was slightly perturbed to find that he has to share the tree. I was simply thrilled NC decided not to climb it.

Assumed positions

Pissy pussies having to share.

Morphing into an elf, I spent the rest of Friday evening trying to make my pad resemble the North Pole.

Work cut out for me...

As you can tell, I hate Christmas.

While I was busy channeling Santa, my Iowa twins were out and about in the newly fallen snow.

Snow

Snow bunnies.

On Saturday we had one final Nashville college football tailgate at my mini manse, cheering on our mediocre at best Iowa Hawkeyes.

Tailgate!

Last tailgating treats of the season.

Mr. Bear was so upset that this was the final viewing party that he promptly took a three-hour nap on his grandma’s lap.

Front row seat Best seat in the ouse

Best seat in the house.

Keeping our family tradition alive, my dad and I decided to drink straight from our moonshine bottles in lieu of shot glasses because our Hawkeyes lost yet another game.

Who needs glasses?

Moonshine makes losing less memorable.

By the end of the weekend, the flu found its way to my little Iowa bebes, who’ll hopefully be in recovery before Auntie CBXB gets her hands on them in a few days for Thanksgiving!

Double the sick

Double down with the sickness.

Here’s hoping you and yours stay healthy for a safe and happy holiday week!

CBXB

CBXB!

21 thoughts on “Weekend Winks – Holiday Prep

  1. Good to see you back drinking and blogging! Ugh – Christmas already?

    • I KNEW you would hate that I had Christmas before Thanksgiving! But in my defense, leaving for Iowa on Wednesday, back Sunday and having a party the following weekend. Had to be prepped and ready for the shenanigans!

  2. SwittersB says:

    I was wondering if you were ok….now I see you have been taking your medicine and feel relieved……………

  3. Strewth, you go girl (rock star I mean!) šŸ™‚

  4. Hey girl! I’ve missed reading you. Everything OK? Getting ready for a houseful here, hub, son, DIL. Lots of eating, drinking, surfing (them) cleaning up after them and cooking for everyone(me) Hope you Tday is happy!

  5. markbialczak says:

    I’m glad to see you’re doing better than your Hawkeyes, CBXB! Ouch. But the mini-manse looks fab for Christmas already. Griswold’s look out, here come Ted and New Cat!

  6. Inspectors Clawseau One and Two.

  7. stylentonic says:

    Can’t wait to decorate my house too… I Hope this weekend! Kiss kiss dear

  8. SerachShiro says:

    Ooh please can I hire the Inspector gadget duo ? They were so cute in that photo in-front of the pink three, you sure can see that they were all comfortable in your already Christmas atmosphere ! Hope that the twin will get better very soon and I wish you a very lovely evening in your new Christmas home šŸ™‚ !

  9. mollytopia says:

    Hahaha – I’m so glad you drink out of the bottle and love Christmas too! It’s destiny : ) Happy Thanksgiving!

  10. Dicks in a box. Lol. I see what you did there. Have a great Thanksgiving with those babies! Let me know if you stall in St. Louis by chance.

  11. Phil Lanoue says:

    We went drinking last night at our local Moose Lodge. Normally I think it’s over 70 only to be there but they made an exception for us.
    Love those two under the tree!
    Too funny!

Holla at me!

