Goodbye Gunner

An ode to my dogphew Gunner, who passed away earlier this week….

Gunner

 

Six years ago, you entered our flow

Gunnie Bear

And it was so fun watching you grow.

Gunner

Since you were a puppy you loved wiggling your rear,

Gunner 2

Under anything that was near.

Gunner Blog

You acted like you weren’t the size of a hog,

Lap Dog

But I never minded you being my lap dog.

Lap Dog 2

Dressing up was one of your favorite things,

Super Gunner

Astro Gunner

Even though it was exhausting wearing wings.

Bumble Gunner

The ever snuggly bed buddy always keeping me warm,

Bed Buddy

Trips to Iowa without you there will seem out of the norm.

Bright Eyes

While you adored swimming because of the action,

Swimer

You truly loved chips with a passion.

Chips 'n' Gunnie

When the twins came along, you were no longer the star of the show,

Love

But you always kept a watchful eye over the babies constantly on-the-go.

Nunner

As a big bro your patience grew…

Patience

Times two.

Times Two

You never missed a nighttime wind down,

Story Time

Or the chance to be around our two little clowns.

Trio

We will miss you being the clean up crew

Clean Up

And your constant need to be in the middle of the hullabaloo.

Fun Bed

We will miss your sweet face in the front window,

Prince B

And how you were always around when we needed a hero.

Love

When you suddenly were feeling blue, Prince B wanted to comfort you.

Snuggle

Seasons will change and life will move on but we’ll always carry you in our hearts like a lucky charm.

Last One

With your angel wings you’ll fly to a heavenly zoo…

But God your Auntie CBXB will miss the shit out of you.

Β 

Kisses

 

Thanks for the six years that felt like a lifetime of fun.

Love you Gunsie.

Auntie Juicy

CBXB!

57 thoughts on “Goodbye Gunner

  1. This makes me sad. So sorry to hear he passed. Only six years? It’s so hard when they leave us. I still think of mine.

    • Thanks my friend. It is still so sad. Although we know he had a happy, good life full of love it’s never easy. He went very unexpectedly and while he was just six, it seems like he should have been here until we were all 60. πŸ™‚

  2. Gary Lum says:

    Sorry for your loss 😦

  3. what a gorgeous boy he was but looks like you’ll never be able to forget him

    • Gunnie will most certainly not be forgotten. We shared the same favorite snack – chips and dip, so I will always think of him when grabbing a bag. He was such a sweet dog that did live a fun life. Sad when they go!

  4. gilhooley52 says:

    I’m sorry to hear this.

  5. Nancy says:

    Gunner was one awesome dog. He will be missed by all that loved him. So sorry to hear this! Hugs to all Gunner’s Family

  6. I really don’t “like” the loss of Gunner but I do completely understand the heartbreak.
    You just know there is a sleep mask and a BIG bag of chips in doggy heaven with his name on them!
    Hugs to you and your family.
    xo

  7. Tracy says:

    Tears in my eyes as I read this, I know too well the loss of a dog. So sorry for your loss!

  8. Dionysus Amber says:

    We never forget our special friends. They will always be in our hearts.

  9. Patti Morris says:

    Awww, such a nice poem, no dry eyes here😒

  10. KittNoir says:

    Oh honey so sorry sending hugs xo

  11. JMC813 says:

    Very touching CBXB. Very sad to see a good friend go away. RIP Gunner.

  12. I’m so sorry! I know its tough on the babies, too.

  13. markbialczak says:

    Oh, no, CBXB. I’m sorry. Gunner was a beauty. Tears from Syracuse. 😦

  14. bmagpub says:

    So sorry to hear of the loss. Hopefully you will be able to give thanks for all the joy, fun and love he brought into your lives. /hugs/. Brett.

  15. 1EarthUnited says:

    What a beautiful tribute post, sorry to hear of Gunners’ passing. Only 6 short years but a lifetime of memories. My condolencesβ™₯

  16. SOOO sorry for your loss. A loved animal is so special.

  17. SerachShiro says:

    Ooh my ………………..I’m so sorry ! I did get emotional, what a beauty of a gorgeous dog ! Gunner will always be in your heart that’s for sure, what a loss !! ❀

  18. VivBlogs says:

    Aw geez, I’m sorry to hear about Gunner. He looked like a good one.

  19. Phil Lanoue says:

    Awww… sad news indeed. So sorry to hear of the loss of this terrific pooch. It’s rough to lose a true member of the family.

  20. kellisamson says:

    Oh, this made me teary. So sad for your fam. xoxox

  21. Gosh, I’m sorry! I know how hard it is to lose a friend like this.

    He was BEAUTIFUL : ) Both as a puppy and as a huge ass guy : )

    Also, is it weird that I immediately knew what you mean by dogphew? : P

    • I LOVE that you knew what I meant by dogphew!! Kindred spirits we are!

      Gunnie was such a sweet dog and while we know this time will ultimately come with the furry members of our family, this one just came so suddenly and he was so young. It is comforting to know that he didn’t suffer endlessly and that he’s up there with my first fur ball, Teddy. Eating chips and annoying the piss out of each other. XO

  22. This is so sad.. I remember being quite devastated when our family dog passed away.. But at least you have so many wonderful memories!

  23. Dang, you’re making me misty here..I’m a sucker for a good dog.

  24. […] since my first dogphew Gunner suddenly passed away last November, the hustle bustle of the castle that houses my little prince and […]

  25. […] was also not hating life as I bonded with my new dogphew, Spike. He is a six month old golden doodle who is already the size of a small polar bear and makes […]

  26. […] first got into the idea of Halloween costuming after seeing Ted’s cousin, Gunner, in a bee’s […]

Holla at me!

