Weekend Winks – Road Trippin’

Nashville was nine hours away this weekend as I packed it up and headed to Iowa.

Just a regular road trip on the horizon

Most practical passenger for a long trip.

I could hardly wait to get my hands on those twins I feature on my blog every day from time to time.

Squeeze #1

Mauling #1

Squeeze #2

Mauling #2

Now since I surprised my sister for her birthday and drove up to celebrate the twins turning two last week, cocktails were most definitely involved.

Naturally more than just twinning around.

I know, I know, you’re shocked.

My sister and I got to see my college bestie for cocktails and tipsy shopping (is there anything better?).

Yours truly, Whitney Lover and Birthday Girl.

Yours truly, Whitney Lover and Birthday Girl.

Upon our return, it was time to pass out presents to the bebes.  When it came to Princess B, how could I not get her an Elsa from Frozen dress AND matching heels?

Present time! A ballgown and high heels, naturally.

Just what every two year old needs!

Prince B received a noise making kitty cat piano, which Princess B promptly tried to steal.

And a piano for Prince B that his sister promptly took over.

A good lesson that I need to purchase two of everything.

Since the party weekend couldn’t stop after presents, my bro-in-law – Dr. Cocktail – concocted speakeasy style libations that could rival any bar in the country.

Fancy drink time with Dr. Cocktail.

I had a hard time choosing so I went with everything, naturally.

Um Japanese whisky is an aquired taste.

Fancy schmancy Japanese whiskey creates the munchies.

Fancy snacks.

So we had fancy schmancy snacks to accompany our distinguished cocktails.

Iowa winters can last from October to April (sometimes even May) and it seem dreary and gray for months on end. So you can imagine what happened when the temperature hit 50 degrees with the sun shining brightly.

When this happens in Iowa in January, watch out.

When this happens during an Iowa January, watch out.

While out and about running errands, I saw folks in short sleeves, no coats, flip flops and yes, even shorts.

30 car pile up

30 car pile up at the car wash.

Funny thing is the next day looked like this…

Lovely weather

Is this what global warming looks like?

It was time for me to squeeze every last ounce out of my favorite duo and head home to Nashville where people adorn themselves in parkas, mittens and stocking hats when it’s 50 degrees and sunny out.

They're so sad to see me go. Obviously.

They were so sad to see me go. Obviously.

Not one minute of my drive was without snow, sleet, rain or wind. Makes a nine hour trip feel like you might as well be driving to outer space.

Ride looked ike this for nin short hours.

Road tripping bliss.

When I did grace my mini manse with my presence all New Cat wanted was a heaping bowl of food.

FUCKING FEED ME.

Missed you too, Mr. Annoying.

But Teddy did nothing but love up on me, as he knows the way to his mama’s heart.

Snuggle time

She’s mine. All mine.

Here’s hoping you’re warm and cozy no matter what the weather this week.

Cheers!

CBXB

CBXB!

33 thoughts on “Weekend Winks – Road Trippin’

  1. Driving in Nashville, where people drive like lunatics, damn near hit you with their car if you’re on the sidewalk and shut the city down if there is a rumor it MIGHT snow. Wall to wall tv coverage over a dusting of rain or snow. Glad you got to be with the beautiful babies.

  2. Only getting slowly back into blogging, so good to see you are still keeping the world crazy!!! 🙂

  3. It warmed up here too and i cant stop drinking beer when i get home because i’m a redneck like that. Youre a good sister! You suck as a stranger online pal though, otherwise youd have met me in St. Louis, as the song goes. Lol.

  4. markbialczak says:

    Great weekend with the sis, Dr. Cocktail BOL, twinsie B’s and the bestie. Yay for the party! That drive home looked like a sucker, CBXB. Oy.

  5. bmagpub says:

    Warm here? Today was about 80, Thursday getting to 83, overnight about 68, and humid! Good beer, wine, or gin drinking weather! :-). (Or cider, or cocktails, or just about anything). Glad you made it back home safely. And Ted and New Cat are glad to have mommy home.

  6. SerachShiro says:

    Here the weather is quite OK and it was very strange to have there like 50 degrees and the day after snow and other typical winter weather !
    Love drinking cocktails and go for shopping tipsy, sometimes happens ! Thanks because of the adoration of your sweet cats for you and your lovely warm home, when you did get back la casa became home sweet home !! 🙂

    • It is fun to drink and shop, isn’t it? I’ve never regretted a purchase when I’ve shopped that way! Glad to hear the weather is good in your ‘hood. Nashville is much warmer than Iowa, that’s for sure! And the kitties have been mauling me ever since I’ve gotten home (which you know I love!).

  7. Mitzie Mee says:

    Love that your fellow passenger is also buckled up:):) Japanese whiskey is dangerous! It will make you do horrible things, such as dancing on the tables while singing karaoke. Trust me, I’ve been there;)

  8. You really made the most of your Iowa weekend, and those twins are adorable.The kitty cat piano looks like an instant hit, but buying two of them would have meant twice as much noise. Not a pleasant drive back, but at least you had the cats to welcome you. I’m not sure you could tell which one missed you the most….obviously for different reasons. 🙂

  9. Road trippin an ending with speakeasy whisky cocktails sounds like it was worth the drive! That, and seeing the cute kids of course! Crazy Auntie!

  10. P.J. says:

    That does not look like a fun road trip back, though I imagine it was done with many smiles from the fun weekend!

  11. JMC813 says:

    ROAD TRIPPIN!!!!!! CBXB style. Which is IN STYLE!!!!

Holla at me!

