Goodbye to Gma the Great

I’ve never been one to take my family or time with them for granted, so it was real bummer when my Gma passed away a few weeks ago. Not only was she one of my best buddies, I know I inherited her brutal honesty, ornery streak and love of having my fingernails polished.

An ode to my Gma, HJ who recently passed away…

Gma

Always one to laugh at surprises…

Image

…you took to my photobombing like it was one of your most treasured prizes.

Photo Bomb!

You never let anyone forget…

PastedGraphic-1

…when it was time to celebrate you bigger than the national debt.

IMG_4861

I learned from the best…

Image 16

…how to celebrate my life full of zest.

IMG_2618

Now seriously Gma, you taught me to party harder than Mae West.

photo 1

A love of leopard you instilled….

IMG_4900

…which is now being passed down to the next generation, who’s thrilled.

IMG_1349

It’s so fun you two met at a skating rink…

IMG_4888

…even if after 44 years you still had to steal kisses quicker than an eye blink.

IMG_4873

Although I took after Gpa avoiding kisses, rather craving a hard drink…

photo 5

…you always insisted on showing your love, making sure everyone was in sync.

IMG_3760

Beauty sleep and a hairnet was apparently all that you needed…

IMG_4858

…but truly it was your hair ‘dos that always succeeded.

IMG_4893

So it was with glasses and confidence that I superseded…

photo 3

…the grace and confidence that you always heeded.

IMG_4892

I wish I would have felt more impeded.

photo 1

The Iowa State Fair you never did love,

probably because you couldn’t wear foot gloves.

Image 12

It will never be the same, not bringing you a corn dog…

Image 42

…and discussing how I ate my way through the fair like a prize-winning hog.

Image 145

Circled blacked out dates always meant you had a companion…

IMG_4875

…you always loved attention bigger than the Grand Canyon.

IMG_4898

Attending every homemade Christmas pageant we made…

Image 55

…and most likely secretly prayed…

PastedGraphic-3

…that I would never end up a lonely old maid.

photo 1

The first to pass of five sisters, who lived out their misters,

Image 19

…you loved being pampered more than a fever blister.

IMG_5709

Your nails were painted the day before you passed…

IMG_4724

…and Jell-O shots without you will seem so miscast.

Image 1

Regardless of view near or afar, life will never be the same…

IMG_4547

…without you as my shining rock star.

I love you Gma.

Megan

CBXB!

35 thoughts on “Goodbye to Gma the Great

  1. Nancy says:

    Made me cry! Great pictures of HJ

  2. reocochran says:

    Megan, your grandmother was so creative and hysterical. Not often you find such a modern woman who knew how to have a “good time!” You were blessed with having her while grown. She was truly one of a kind. Sorry that she passed away.
    I and others may have lost grandparents while younger. I hope I can live longer, since my 6 grandies seem to love and need me.
    Never long enough. Wonderful photos! đŸ™‚

    • I bet you are a lot like my grandma – I will send all of my good karma your way in hopes you make it to almost 100 – if not longer so your grandies can enjoy you well into their adult years. I must say it was fun to have a grandparent for so long. And she was one of the most hysterical gals I’ve ever known!

  3. thehungrymum says:

    sending love – is so hard to say goodbye.

  4. What a loving tribute to a truly amazing woman. Love to you and your family!

  5. Gary Lum says:

    Really sorry to hear about the passing of your grandmother. You had such a special relationship. The great thing is the memories you will keep forever.

  6. SwittersB says:

    Beautiful, fun tribute to a wonderful, inspiring gal! You are such a sweetheart and she obviously helped pave the way for you. Very nice.

    • Thanks so much my friend! Gma and I were definitely buddies and until I was an adult, thought every other kid had relationships with their grandparents like I did. Now realizing that’s not always the case, makes it all the more special!

  7. what a fabulous tribute to your fabulous grandma & I’m sure she’s smiling her approval at you

  8. Tracy says:

    So sorry to hear of her passing. Your memories of her are priceless!

  9. Brianna says:

    Perfectly written by a beautiful granddaughter that does love her family with everything she has in her! Love you!

  10. JMC813 says:

    So sorry about your Gma CBXB. Just know that heaven is a much livelier place now and that Jell-O Shots were waiting upon her arrival ya know?

    • YES! And now someone will be waiting with shots upon my arrival one day!

      • JMC813 says:

        One day WAAAAAAY down the road. We BOTH still have some hell to raise her on the blue marble. But it is comforting to know there will be a tray of jello-shots and perhaps a skinny pirate or two waiting for you when you arrive. Brought to you on the wings of a familiar and loving angel.

  11. She looked like a fun lady to be around. I’m so sorry for your loss. I was worried when you didn’t pounce on my email or blog for awhile. I know you must miss her. I know you have fantastic memories of her and great stories.

  12. I lost my grandma last year. I know what you are feeling. You have my condolences. Sorry for your loss.

  13. markbialczak says:

    So sorry for your loss, Megan. This is a terrific ode to you Gma. What a lady, right down to the day before she passed. Wow, do I see her in you. And that’s a great compliment. RIP, Gma.

  14. SerachShiro says:

    This post touch me a lot and you made it so beautiful showing you unforgettably love and affections for her …………….rest in peace Gma !!

  15. […] much so, I was considering how to reupholster a section of my vintage sofa that used to belong to my Gma.  As I was getting my beauty sleep amid the white noise of my sound machine (on the highest volume […]

  16. kellisamson says:

    Oh, so many goosebumps. What a lucky gma and a lucky Megs. xoxoxoxo

  17. […] Farewell to Gma the Great. […]

  18. […] evening, I’ll be drinking to the wise words my Gma has told me every year, “having another birthday sure beats the […]

  19. […] deck out in our finest holiday threads and put on the white trashiest show we could muster for our Gma and Gpa […]

  20. […] great things didn’t happen for folks in this dumpster fire of a year but seriously, although my Gma used to say, “don’t wish your life away,” I couldn’t think of anything more […]

Holla at me!

